U S A ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington Region » Wellington
September 25th 2011
Published: September 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

No I am not coming home yet but a slice of home came here this past weekend for the Rugby World Cup. Thats right the United States Eagles, our very own Rugby team (which I did not know we had until this trip) came to Wellington to take on the Australians. Of course being Americans in New Zealand we had to support our country no matter how bad our team is, if your unfamiliar with rugby we are awful.

The match was on Friday at 830pm. In true American style there was a pre-match BBQ at one of the flats on our street. We had everything from hot dogs and hamburgers to flip cup and dizzy izzy. Around 7ish me and my three friends headed down to the stadium by running and signing through the streets of Wellington every and any song we could think of that had some reference to America. The stadium was packed with many USA supporters, most of them Kiwis who just wanted to see the Australians lose.

For anyone who knows me or my family will know that when I say I am going to go "all out" I truly mean what I say. I was sitting front row behind the USA try zone. As for my outfit I chose to wear Red and Blue high knee socks, White nike running shorts, Blue sports Bra. I had painted half my face blue the other red and wrote USA in white across it. I managed to paint a very good replica our flag on my stomach (if I may do say so myself). This ensemble is the reason I am now very popular in Wellington because I managed to get on TV for a grand total of ten minutes, I was on Channel 3 News, Prime News, and was the background to the Rugby World Cup official website.

Although we lost badly to the Australians overall we had an amazing time at our first and probably last Rugby and World Cup game.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb