2 Argentineans + 1 Pot of Oil = A Crazy Week


Advertisement
Published: July 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

When it comes to roommates I seem to always luck out with getting put with the good ones. There has never seem to have been a dull moment in my life when I start a new chapter in my life which involves living with complete strangers. As many of you will recall my freshman year roommate in college who peed on me, became a lost person, broke many windows, and was an overall drunk. I am pretty sure I will never be able to find a roommate that will top her list but I have found roommates who can just add onto it.

Basic cooking skills is something that parents should teach their kids before sending them off to live on their own. Not should basic cooking skills be taught but so should basic "in case there is a fire in the kitchen" skills should be taught too. This past week my two Argentinean roommates were cooking up their twelve course lunch which happened to include french fries. Now a days many people prefer the easy "baking" method of this classic dish, however the boys wanted to go old school. They loaded a small pot with oil (did not know how much to put in so filled to the top) and then sat down to watch some TV. The next time they turned around to check on the oil pot our kitchen was filled with smoke and there were flames coming off the pot almost reaching the celling (which is a good 5-6 ft). I was upstairs at the time so I was not downstairs to help, but my other roommate from New York was. In good ol' fashion she froze and did not move (there are three fire extinguishers within a 4 foot radius of the stove) no one thought to grab one. This is were the bright idea came to Pablo to grab the flaming pot and carry it outside. Of course when he grabbed it the fire latched onto him and his arm setting his arm on fire. Finally another roommate came into the kitchen because of the smell and did the right thing putting all the fires out. Pablo was then rushed to the hospital, he received 3rd degree burns from his fingers to his elbow on his right arm.

We are now able to laugh at this incident as a house, but this just goes to show please teach your kids basic skills before sending them off alone.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb