Taupo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
April 11th 2007
Published: April 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ZIPZIPZIP

Me on Zip Wire
When we got to Taupo we went and booked our Skydive for 11am today (which is now yesterday). Just the thought of it made me fill my pants and I ended up in a right bad mood to Helen and Lisa's joy. I really want to do it, but there is no doubt I will be 5hitty it....in fact I will probably bottle it anyway.

Anyway we woke up to pouring rain which wasn't a good sign. We rang them and 11am was cancelled because of the weather, so we re-arranged it for 2pm. We sat in the TV room watching friends (still bricking it!!) waiting for 2pm, in the mood I was in I don't think I would have done it. We rang at 1:45pm and it was again cancelled. Weird feeling....a bit of relief but then gutted we had wasted a day and we had still not done it, so we booked it for tomorrow (today) at 9am.

We then decided to try make something of the day, so we hired some bikes with the intention to go see 'The Crater of the Moon' and 'Huka Falls'. Firstly we rode down the walk path and soon realised so we turned back. On the way back we visited some hot pools. I got bit adventurous and waded closer only to find it quite slippy and my leg and my hand (complete with Camera in it) got soaked....DOH!! My camera is abit knackered now I think, but after what I have put it through who could be surprized.

Then we found the bicycle track. It was really rough dark and really crapply sign posted. We rode for about 30 mins following the signs to 'Huka Falls' and eventually ended up back at a point where we had already been. It was really spooky like something you would see on a film (like The Wrong Turn film). It was starting to get dark and the woods resembled the ones in the Blair Witch Project, so we bottled it and decided to go back to the hostel.

On the way back we found a zip wire which was fun so it wasn't a total waste of time. I will probably 'blog' about today later or tomorrow, as obviously there is nothing to write at the mo (it's 10am) other than the Skydive was cancelled again due to it being too windy (I THINK I was really ready for it today aswell )

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb