Kiwi Countdown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Coromandel » Coromandel Town
December 6th 2005
Published: January 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Coramandel SunsetCoramandel SunsetCoramandel Sunset

Aaaaggggggghhhhhhh!
My last week in New Zealand and I´ve still not found a rugby player. What´s the problem here? New Zealand isn´t flooded with men as I had thought, so my drought continues. In fact, one statistic I overheard was that there are actually 5 single women for every single man in the North Island! If this is really true perhaps I should have done my homework a bit more before coming!!


Having left the pungent skies of Rotorua, I managed to make it to Whitianga for the night. I joined a few others from the hostel for a local tour, and found myself digging holes in the sand on Hot Rocks beach. If you dig a hole the size of a bathtub it´s supposed to fill in with hot water for a natural beach spa. I dug and I dug and I promise you the pool of water was only being warmed up by me! There were a few spots in the sand where the heat came through and toasted our toes-ughh-burned our toes!! The problem was unfortunately that the location for this hotspot was still surrounded by waves crashing up to shore. For the remainder of the daytrip we walked along to Cathedral Cove, a dramatic shoreline and refreshing walk. However still no rugby players hiding around the corner.


For a spot of adventure before crossing over to the other side of the peninsula, I signed up for a rope course. Thinking I might be swinging on modern vines and hanging on for dear life as I crawled over a cliff edge, I was surprised to see an area of telephone poles connected by a few wires. Turns out the ´rope course´is really more of a ´facing heights with nothing to hold onto adventure´! I harnessed in and figured I would have no issues (being the cocky adventurist that I am!) I climbed the pole spending a little more time securing my grip as I reached the top. This was definitely the easy part as the foot/ hand grips were perfectly placed. When I finally reached the top I began crossing a wire towards another telphone pole holding onto 2 waist level wires. A bit wobbly, but no problems. The second activity had no hand held securities yet I managed to make it across a log. It seems easy from the bottom, but I assure you
Cathedral Cove JumpCathedral Cove JumpCathedral Cove Jump

My latest action. Sorry for the funny droopy trousers' crotch look.
the height factor can slow even the fearless. I´m sure I broke the local record for taking the longest time to make the first step! The next routine caused my nerves to explode and my bladder to pound. Having reached the top of the 20 meter pole, I was expected to leap even higher and reach a trapeze bar dangling too far above my head. 20 minutes after first placing my feet on top of the pole, I continued the hoola hoop dance holding onto nothing but the wind. Maybe I´m not such a hot shot after all....maybe I should just climb down...maybe I...? Oh what the fuck, I didn´t manage to keep my eyes open but I jumped for the trapeze bar and was caught by the harness. That was definitely the biggest rush of fear I´ve experienced so far and then it was onto the swing, for a few seconds of freefalling bliss.


I reached the town of Coramandel in time for an amazing sunset on the hostel lawns. Amazing how red skies can draw you in anywhere in the world. The next day was filled with a touristy train ride on a mini rail ending
Me riding in Bay of IslandsMe riding in Bay of IslandsMe riding in Bay of Islands

Proud to say I managed a trot even!
in a cracking view over the end of the peninsula. I enjoyed a coffee overlooking the oyster farms in the bays below.


I drove on to Thames that afternoon, thinking I might want to spend a few days there. Before I knew it however, I had driven right through it. So Bay of Islands it is.


Having opted for rather a long drive, I arrived at the 'Mousetrap' hostel quite late and hungry. The place quickly cheered me up as there were many different nooks and crannies to tuck into with my gourmet sandwich and book. I spent the first morning lounging, but came to my senses realizing how beautiful the area was. I signed up for an afternoon of horse riding across the hills and through the rivers. The extra bonus to the day was when my few hours of trotting through the landscape with my horse Moby, was given to me as a freebie. I had arrived to find the owner puzzled over a broken cash register... I warped back in time to the 'work' mode, and had solved the problem within a few minutes!


I joined the boat 'The Rock' for
LibraryLibraryLibrary

The worlds' smallest library even has a guard dog!
the next night. From the name of the boat I wasn't sure whether it would be a solid night at sea or a mad party, but the activities sounded intriguing so what the hell. At seven months into this trip, I'm starting to face activities with a bit of a unintended travel snobbery. Nobody likes hearing "Been there, done that" all the time, so whatever kind of night the 'Rock' offers, I've never held a shotgun before so might as well go for it eh?


Now if the imagery of me shooting an animal has popped into your head, you clearly don't know me. I aimed at the plastic bottle being dragged behind the boat. Three attempts to hit it and all three successful shots straight into the depths of the ocean. It was a small target, I swear. Next activity was a bit of fishing so I took my place beside all the experienced lads. Having won a fishing competition when I was ten, I knew I now had the chance to show off my hooking expertise. An hour later, I accepted defeat. I didn't fancy getting my hands dirty anyways. As the sun began setting behind
Hot Rocks BeachHot Rocks BeachHot Rocks Beach

Diggin for a hot tub
the islands around us, we sat for a gourmet meal and sampled a few varieties of beers. I was soon reminded not to get too wasted, as the best activity was yet to come. And no, it wasn't a rugby player.


I joined five other kayakers for a prowl on the pitch black water. As we set off, the night lights began to sparkle all around us. The phospherescence was absolutely magical. From each stroke of the paddle trailed the glittering bacteria that lights up with the motion. And that was hardly the best part. We circled to the far side of a nearby island to absorb the silence and streams of lights as fish jetted beneath us. When we heard the blowing of water we all imagined a huge whale was approaching, and figured staying still was the safest option. Crazy how the imagination can run wild, as all I could think of was Moby Dick...did anybody survive in that story?


The splashes of water and sounds of underwater animals sucking in the air around us came closer. We figured out that they were dolphins intrigued by our night passage and tried to pick up
Cathedral CoveCathedral CoveCathedral Cove

Look one way and it's quite big, then look from the other side and it has shrunk. Beautiful regardless.
their trail, but they found us first. I looked a few feet over to my left and saw Flipper outlined in the twinkling phosphorescence swimming in my direction. Before I could even drop my jaw in awe, he swam under my kayak and surfaced for air on the other side. Wow wow wow. That must qualify as a multiple check off my 'been there done that' experiences.


We returned to the boat and blubbered the experience to the others (it was hard not to gloat!) before taking in more of the night with a chilling swim. Again the phosphorescence highlighted my toes beneath me. I soon realized how cold I really was and dried off in front of the fire-yes, the boat has everything!! My eyes drooped to the bottom of my beer can and I finally crawled up to the top bunk.


After breakfast, we dug out the snorkels and flippers and began collecting lunch. There were thousands of clusters of mussels clinging onto the rocks. I felt like I was in a race for who could dive down and rip off the biggest shell or return to the surface with multiple prizes. Lucky for
Me walking on coastMe walking on coastMe walking on coast

In my kiwi shirt, wearing my kiwi necklace...it was a good day though sadly I've now broken my kiwi jade so it's only a memory.
me, I had pockets and curves that could hold the winning collection. With my new survival skills I'm sure I could win the next reality show.


The boat then set off towards the most perfect island. The beach was filled with intriguing shells, and the hills behind allowed our eyes to take in the hundreds of surrounding islands. We even snorkelled some more and saw some crayfish quivering under a rock shelf. I joined the crew in collecting some sea urchins, though I might not have tried thathad I known I would be eating them for lunch later! I'm not likely to ever order those spiky circular critters in a restaurant, but the sushi and mussels were divine. After lounging in the sun for a few hours, it was eventually time to return to shore. My time in the Bay of Islands has narrowed down to the end as tonight I'm driving down to Auckland.


Before hitting the big city, I pulled over to visit a friend of a friend in Red Beach. Ali has been living in New Zealand for a few years having joined his brother James and girlfriend Jo in an amazing house
The trapeze jumpThe trapeze jumpThe trapeze jump

You have no idea how hard it was to take that huge leap of faith jump.
overlooking the entire bay. The boys were working extra late that night, so Jo and I managed to polish off a couple of bottles of wine. Gossiping to another Brit with a full glass in hand is easy to do, whereever you are! When the lads finally pulled up at 1am, the gossip continued and the phone call to the UK friend of a friend was made. My day finally came to an end in the wee hours of the morning. Just before conking out completely, I laid my camera in the middle of the floor to remember to catch the gang on film. I don't want you all to think I have no friends and I'm making all this up.


As the working day started early for everybody, I crawled out of bed as well. Although I didn't really feel the same pressures of a day starting as I strolled down to the beach and read my book. It doesn't matter how many beaches I may have seen on this trip, each and everyone is still inviting. I flipped a few pages, I closed my eyes and began my day daydreaming under the sun. A few hours
Kauri kings of the jungleKauri kings of the jungleKauri kings of the jungle

These trees really tower above everything else. Sadly many were cut down years back, but fortunately a few survived.
later I woke and jumped into the car to meet another friend in Auckland. And I forgot to take the photo of the gang. I promise you they are real.


I pulled into Auckland and managed to find Tracey's house fairly quickly. I suppose having worked together for so long she knows what kind of map and guidelines I would follow best. We left the company at the same time so I was arriving to check out her new life in New Zealand with hubby Phil. For the first couple of hours all I could say was 'Nice digs!" A modern apartment certainly beats the aging flats in London! We had lunch and soon after hit the town to join a birthday bash. Phil and Tracey impressed me with their cultured friends as we drank beers over a few games of bowls. I always thought this was a sport for the aged, you know, white hair matching their white outfits. Obviously Phil and Tracey haven't quite reached this stage in life yet, which proved to me that laughs and beers can even be had on the greens.


My next day in Auckland wasn't meeting a friend
Piggy Drive ByPiggy Drive ByPiggy Drive By

Had to stop and laugh at what greeted me as I drove by!
of a friend but a friend of the family. Strange how everybody I'm visiting is near or in Auckland eh? Bruce left the UK many years ago, enticed by the 'City of Sails', so what better way to spend the day together? We boarded a ferry and left the Auckland city skyline behind us. The sun was shining and my camera was madly clicking at each new angle.


We arrived at Waiheke Island (I hope that's what it was called!) and were met by Bruce's son and the sailboat. I quickly took in the air of the ocean and watched the boys trying to snare a fish away from the gulls that swarmed over the school of fish swimming just under the waves. The afternoon was so relaxing (obviously I just watched as everybody else sailed the boat!) and as good as my book was it wasn't quite enough to stay awake. The snooze was followed by fresh scallops cooked on board just minutes after the boys brought them up from the bottom of the bay. The joys of scuba diving eh? Definitely on my list of things to do! And as for my first day of sailing?
Tiny train tunnellTiny train tunnellTiny train tunnell

Clay artwork everywhere
It may be the first day but certainly not the last. I promise I'll do some work next time! Another great day with great company, all part of this tough life of mine.


For my last day in Auckland (in New Zealand for that matter!) I cruised through the streets of downtown Auckland. I hit a couple of touristy shops but then my craving for a final adrenalin rush could not be stopped. I approached Auckland Tower and soon suited up for a controlled bungy. Not quite a freefalling elastic snapping jump, but a controlled dive down towards the busy streets below. As with the rope course near Coramandel, it took me a little longer to make that step over the edge, but I finally made it. Once I had fallen 30 feet I was stopped to pose for a picture. Remember, it's a controlled jump! Everybody on the viewing deck waved at me and I laughed and made funny faces back before being plunged the remaining 900 meters down without warning. It really was a peaceful fall. When they offered me a freebie second fall who could say no? I imagined myself having so much more confidence as I had all ready done it, that I woud take a running dive over the edge, but still...it took me another 15 minutes. But hey, I did it. Twice.


That night, Tanya from my Thailand travels joined Tracey, Phil and I for dinner. It was a feast to celebrate my 5 weeks in New Zealand and of their adventures to come as new residents.


And that's it?!! New Zealand is over? I'm afraid so. As for the men situation in New Zealand? I've only managed to daydream and imagine who I might see upon my return to these islands. It may not be a rugby player after all, it may not even be a kiwi. Regardless of my man situation, the land of kiwis has a lot to offer and I definitely want to explore more. Who wants to snog a toothless brute anyway? I've got some Argentinian footballers and Brazilian beach volleyball players to look forward to in South America! Although Chile is the first stop, maybe Mr Right will own the winery I'd like to tour...


Will fill you in soon...I promise! 2006 is 'gonna start in the current travels, give
Russell boat raceRussell boat raceRussell boat race

I was just waiting for the ferry and looked up to see everybody racing by
or take a week or so!!


-Fiona



















Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 32


Advertisement

Shotgun FiShotgun Fi
Shotgun Fi

The one and only time I'll ever hold a gun...it was pretty fun although my aim is crap
View from the boatView from the boat
View from the boat

Floating by some of the islands
The Dinner TableThe Dinner Table
The Dinner Table

Perhaps I should have taken it with the food and people, but this at least sets the atmosphere
Night KayakingNight Kayaking
Night Kayaking

The wobbly start of a magical night with dolphins
Fi and FinsFi and Fins
Fi and Fins

When I came back out of the water I had hands, pockets and other holding areas full of mussels
DolphinsDolphins
Dolphins

I didn't manage to catch them as they swam under and beside our boat. It's the third time I've been with dolphins on this world trip and these guys were the friendliest!


4th January 2006

Fiona is cute !!
Fiona your pics are awesome !!! You are too cute !!!
4th January 2006

Sea Urchin
Tasted Sea Urchin on my recent adventure in Turkey. Agree, not planning to try again. I am enjoying your wonderful pictures.
5th January 2006

NOW COME SAN PEDRO DE ATACAMA !
HEY THE SKYJUMP IT WAS AMAZING !!!! HEY I WILL WAIT FOR OUR PICTURES IN THE DRIEST DESSERT IN THE WORLD. I AM IN LOVE NOW FROM A CHILEAN GUY I MEET IN VALLE DEL ELQUI ON NEW YEARS EVE !! BEST WISHES JANDY
22nd January 2006

hey sailor girl!
As you can imagine ... so so jealous of the sailing and tha kayaking with dolphins. But all this jumping from planes etc .... no ambition to join you on!!!! Thinking you are absolutely fab, (and also a bit nutty)for doing it though x

Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 26; qc: 146; dbt: 0.1935s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb