Connections in Quiet Places


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Kerikeri
October 11th 2014
Published: October 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today we visited Kerikeri. Brain had asked David to photograph the stain glass windows in the historic St. James Anglican Church. This church began as a mission in 1819 with the church being built in 1878. Along with the church are two of the oldest building in New Zealand -- the Stone Store and Kemp House. Kerikeri is considered to be the most important historical site in New Zealand as this is where the framework for their bi-cultural society was forged.

While David was in the church, I spent some time wandering the grave yard. It was here, I met Vennie who had come to pull some weeds and plant new flowers on her first husband’s grave. We had a great conversation. Vennie's first husband died when he was only 48 years old (I hope I got that right) leaving her with three young children. I then shared a little about my friend, Brian, who has written a book about his father, who was a talented artist, and died when he was only 37 years old.

When I mentioned my personal history business, she told me she volunteers at the hospice writing people’s memories.

Within a short period
Friends & FlowersFriends & FlowersFriends & Flowers

Standing at the entrance to St. James Church.
of time, we had covered a lot of ground. I love it when I find someone I can connect with so quickly. Perhaps, it was because she was a former nurse. I didn’t get the chance to tell her, my family is full of nurses! In our day-to-day lives, we often don’t take the time (or have the time) to really stop and listen fully to another person. I think it is one of the greatest pleasures in life. I also met her friend, Judy who was wearing a pink possum merino sweater. (I think I will look for one.) Vennie and Judy make sure the inside of the church has fresh flowers. Today, they had large Proteas flowers. They have been doing this for many years – it’s wonderful when people bring a little beauty into the lives of others.

This area abounds in beauty! I took a few photos of some of the flowers that were blooming including the Cala Lillies that seem to grow everywhere!

After lunch David and I went to Rainbow Falls. David climbed very carefully over the wet rocks to get a photo. It was impossible to step on the rocks as they were very slick from the constant mist that fell on them.

We then searched for another church Brian had mentioned, St. John the Baptist in Waimate North. David took photos and I walked about the grave yard in the misty rain. Unfortunately, everyone was quiet here.



(Should anyone be interested in seeing Brian's book, Moments in Time: Ralph Miller - Artist, you can go to Lifelogs.co.nz)


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



29th October 2014

Wonderful
Just want to thank you for this tour of New Zealand!
29th October 2014

Thanks
Hi! Just want you to know that I love reading all about your trip to NZ. What a beautiful place!
29th October 2014

You're Welcome!
Good to hear from you, David. So glad you're enjoying reading about our trip. It's been a marvelous experience!
2nd November 2014
Rainbow Falls

Falls
Never enough waterfalls!
2nd November 2014
Rainbow Falls

Falls
This one was a beauty & you could get so close!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb