Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 16th 2013
Published: February 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

What a very relaxing flight to Auckland, plane only half full and I was given an emergency exit seat, so extra leg room, polar opposite to my experiences from flying to Sydney – thank goodness!

I arrive at Clare and Jordan’s, and realise I hardly actually know Jordan (year above me at high school, and a few mutual friends from living in Stony), and considering they say they live in a small one bed apartment, they are very kind of them to offer and insist I stay, especially when I realise they really weren’t lying when they said ‘small’!

They live right in the CBD, so after ditching my stuff and freshening up we head into to find some food, and have a lovely dinner catching up/ getting to know each other. They are both sporty and love the sea and swimming so we all hit it off straight away. They give me a brief tour of the of the city, and showing me round the ‘Viaduct’ area, where there are the most stunning boats I have ever seen moored – just unbelievable the wealth in the harbour! It’s a very arty and modernised area, with trendy bars, street parks, and trendy seating areas etc. Whilst we were wondering past there happened to be a circus on a boat starting, so we settled in and watched. It was a French couple, wo travel round the world of their boat performing. It was more like acrobatics, but it was totally fantastic - no idea how they managed the moves, let alone on a boat!

When we head back, they re-arrange the angle of their bed, so we can squeeze my matress – the inflatable boat at the side – well hey why sleep on the floor when you could sleep in a boat! It feels slightly like a big kids sleep over, but luckily not awkward in any way at all as they have made me feel so welcome.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb