Hatster Reunion and Farewell New Zealand!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
April 1st 2009
Published: April 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

30th March 2009 - FLIGHT TO AUCKLAND & REUNION TIME!!!
The flight from Christchurch to Auckland was good....nice change from sitting on a bike seat anyway!! Only a 2 hour flight so no meal but we did get some tea and an apple which was good. I enjoyed my first window seat too...loved it! Looking down I couldn't believe how remote the island is....not built up at all just mountains and greenery with the odd house dotted about here and there....love it!!

We landed in Auckland at 4ish and then caught the shuttle straight to the hostel. We had booked to stay at Nomads Fat Camel and were meeting Hatty (girl we met in Oz) there too for a mini reunion. She had only been in NZ for a few days after coming from Fiji...lots to catch up on and stories to swap....excited!! There was a bit of a mix up with the hostels as there were 2 Nomads and Hat had gone to the wrong one. Luckily they were just down the road from each other and so I shouted at the from the taxi window and she trekked up to the right hostel to meet us. Hugs all around!!

The hostel was a disgrace to put it nicely. The worst we had stayed in in NZ by far and none of us were too happy at spending the night there! We dumped our stuff and headed straight out the door to a nice bar to have a beverage and catch up. Felt like we had never been apart and got straight on the banter wagon. She gave us loads of advice about Fiji and we shared some of our knowledge about NZ. Really good to catch up!

After a drink we headed back to the hostel bar to get our free meal. All of us decided to upgrade and pay $4 for a larger portion as the free portions were basically a joke! It wasn't exactly gourmet food either but filled a hole and was cheap! Once eaten we continued the chatter and played a card game or two whilst still catching up! Weird as haven't really known Hatty all that long but loved meeting up with her..can't imagine what it will be like when I see friends and family when I get home...excited for that!!

As the time got later we decided we could not put off climbing into those disgusting beds any longer. We made a decision to try and book somewhere else for our final night the following day rather than stay in Nomads scum hole again. Once in bed I closed my eyes and pretended I was somewhere else...somewhere without a musty smell and dirty sheets! Yuck!!

Can't believe only 1 more night in NZ...not ready to leave at all yet!!

31th March 2009 - A DAY CATCHING UP & FAREWELL MEAL!!!
I woke up at around 7.30am and did not want to stay in that room one moment longer. Hat and Nat were both awake too and both felt the same as me...'Let's get out of here and fast'!! We couldn't even face getting dressed or washed there and so went straight downstairs in our pajamas and searched for a phone box on the streets. Got a few funny looks as well not surprisingly!! We got straight on the blower to YHA city hostel and booked a room for that night...hallelujah...no more Nomads!! It would be nice to finish our NZ adventure at the hostel where we started too...bonus! We pretty much ran back to Nomads, put yesterdays clothes on (dirty mongrels), grabbed our bags and walked for 20 minutes uphill to the YHA. Not a fun walk as the backpack was way too heavy and my shoulder killed but well worth it to be able to stay in a nice hostel for the night! So pleased when we made it!! Wooooo!!!

After finally finding our booking we were advised that the room wouldn't be ready until 2pm but we could leave all our luggage and use the facilities if we wished. I could practically hear the shower calling my name and so that was my first job...after having breakfast of course! Felt nice to be clean and full. All 3 of us felt so much happier there...a home from home!

After chatting for a while in the dining area we headed out into Auckland city. We browsed the streets for a good while and headed to the waterfront where we found a nice little cafe. Hatty was craving a coffee the coffee monster that she is and so we settled there to have lunch. We stayed in the cafe for around 2 hours continuing our catch up, looking at photos and swapping stories until we felt that we had more than outstayed our welcome. We then headed back into the town centre.

I posted a couple of photo CD's home, Hatty shopped for cards and we wandered around a little more before finding a $2 per hour internet shop...wow....so cheap!! We spent a couple of hours in there (job research for me) and then headed to the supermarket to buy the ingredients for our farewell meal. Once shopped we headed back up the hill to the hostel. I had forgotten how hilly Auckland is...definitely needs steam rolling!!

Once at the hostel we checked in and got our room keys. It was almost 6pm too and so I set about preparing tea. We were having a Mexican night with Nachos for starters and Fajitas for main. Got a couple of Coronas on the go too. Nice!! We had our first starter plate at around 6.30 and were still sat there eating at 8.30pm. Way too much food but very very tasty! I cooked the whole meal (just call me Delia) and so once eaten Nat and Hat did the washing and drying up...sweet deal for me I think! Hate washing up!! A good meal and a chat was a lovely way to spend our final night!!

At around 11pm we were all knackered and so took ourselves to bed. Such a nice clean single bed...sweet as!! On to Fiji tomorrow...very excited after hearing Hatty's stories about it but still sad to be leaving NZ. Really feel at home in NZ and definitely could have stayed longer!!

1st April 2009 - SO LONG NEW ZEALAND......FOR NOW ANYWAY!!!
I could not sleep during the night.....excitement of a new place, knowing I had lots to do and sadness at leaving New Zealand. A big mixed bag of thoughts going off there...no wonder I couldn't sleep. After waking every hour from 3am to 7am I thought I should just get up and so I did! I decided to hit the laundry first....I wanted all freshly cleaned clothes for Fiji and so I did a wash load....much needed I might add! Whilst the washer was going I went to have breakfast and then returned to transfer my stuff to the dryer....going all out on this laundry load!! I wrote my journal whilst I waited and then got too excited for fresh smelling clothes and just sat and watched the dryer drum spin...sad I know! Once all dry and smelling beautious I ironed a couple of bits.....yes...ironed...and then went back to the room! Bumped into Nat and Hat on the way who had both just had breakfast...sweet timing!

Washing and food out of the way....time for a shower! Forgot my towel and had to use a t-shirt! To be honest it was as good as the travel towel I have been using! Scalded myself too by absent mindlessly turning the shower up instead of off! Got a little blister on my lip...not pleasant and I winced in pain! Back in the room I was just about to scrunch the locks when I saw that a fellow roomy had hair straighteners...and she said I could borrow them!! Amazing...silky soft hair...felt like luxury after almost 4 months without brushing!! Little things! Poor Nat was not happy today though...she had come out in loads of bites and we were unsure whether they were sandfly bites or bedbugs from Nomads. Felt sorry for her...they did not look pleasant!

We then checked out, sat in the dining area for a chat and then all headed down to the internet shop for an hour or so to kill some time before our airport bus arrived. Internet finished we headed back to the hostel to grab our bags and walked to the bus stop accompanied by Hatty who was there to wave us off! She did a silly jumping trick at the bus stop in typical Hatty style...flip flop flew off and hit a car window! I almost wet myself laughing especially when the car stopped and she thought he was going to shout at her (he was just dropping someone off)! Funny as! It had been really nice to catch up with Hat for a couple of days!! The bus came and Hatty waved us off for the second time on our travels.

The bus journey took around 40 minutes and as soon as we arrived we joined the small queue to check in. It wasn't small by the time we had checked in though as there was a problem with our tickets and we held the queue up massively...oh dear!! Not our fault though and all sorted in the end! We then milled around the airport for a little while before heading to the gate. Time spent in the airport
Final Farewell Shot!!Final Farewell Shot!!Final Farewell Shot!!

Waiting at the bus stop with Hatty!
used to feel like ages but now 2 hours seems like nothing! It was time to board the plane.

I took my seat next to the window....twice in a row! As the plane set off I felt a little tear in my eye as I waved bye to New Zealand. I was really sad to be leaving...just like leaving home! Really loved my time there and was definitely my favourite country visited so far. I know I will return again one day...whether it be to visit again or to make a home there!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb