Box of Birds


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
January 13th 2006
Published: March 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

When in New Zealand if someone asks you how are you. A reply of "Box of Birds" means I'm on top of the world. I thought that was fitting as the start of the journey has been great. Even though I've had a few challenges its just part of the journey. It adds a little more spice as long as my attitude is good and I take it in stride.

We had a 1 hour delay in Seattle due to a mechanical. I for one didn't get irritated. I figure I'd rather have them fix the plane then not... Anyway we were an hour late getting into LA. They let the NZ connection passengers off first so we could hopefully make our flight. There were about 7 of us dashing out of one building, down a sidewalk, and into the international terminal. We found long lines to the ticket booth and we were unable to use our boarding passes to bypass the lines. So after sitting in line watching the time tick away we got resourceful. We went up to first class which didn't have a line and got ourselves checked in. Then there was the baggage line. That was about a block long. There was no way we would make the flight if we had to stand in that line. Finally we found some other travelers with a 5 hour lay over who didn't mind letting us cut in. It still took us forever to get through and we just made it on board at last call.

I met a woman who had just graduated from the UW as an Audiologist. She was headed down to start her new job in Christchurch. We spent a lot of time in line talking to each other. On the way down I sat next to a couple from Winnepeg Canada on their way for a 18 day tour to NZ and Australia. I did get some sleep on the flight to NZ. I also spent a lot of time talking to the people I'd met. Not lonely yet.

We arrived in NZ at 6:05. I arrived to find my cargo case trashed, the roller wheel missing. Oh well, nice concept just needs some work so it can survive the airline baggage crews. In customs they made me take out my mt. bike knobby tires and tent. I had US dirt on the tires so they washed them with virocide and handed them back to me after 20 minutes dripping with viricide but very clean. Awefully nice of them to clean my tires for me (o:

A friend of a friend picked me up from the airport. I lucked out. He is a photographer and an Olympus camera rep. Olympus is the cameras I use. It was great to have someone there to pick me up and give me a ride to the Base Backpackers hostel and give me lots of useful info. I'm meeting Rob and his girlfriend for dinner tonight. So far people here are very friendly.

The hostel was a bit overwhelming. I arrived just in time to get ahead of the mass check out. I managed to get a single room for the first two night so I could spread my stuff out and get everything put together again. Only problem was it wasn't available until 2pm. I asked about storage. They advertised monthly storage on their website which is why I picked them. Well they had changed to a locker system. Big, but not big enough for a bike and a BOB trailer. After putting all my stuff in two large lockers I still had the bike and BOB trailer. I'm thinking what now. While I was standing there contemplating my situation a fellow traveler, Matt and I struck up a conversation. He is from Minneapolis Minnesota and had just finished up a month of tramping in New Zealand. After talking for awhile I finally went back up and asked the staff if they had somewhere I could store my bike and trailer until 2pm. They did and I was relieved to have my "stuff" taken care of. In the meantime Matt and I decided to go get coffee. Where, none other than Starbucks. There are Starbucks everywhere. Imaging that. After coffee Matt was heading to Davenport on the ferry to check out a hill that overlooked Auckland and invited me along. Perfect. I needed a good walk. Oh and did I say it was a sunny hot day out? A perfect start and escape from Seattle.

We took a passenger ferry across the bay to Davenport. Then walked along the shoreline on a trail similar to Alki. From there we walked up the small hill. At the top was an old military look out similar to Fort Warden in Port Townsend. Since the hills around Auckland are we were able to see all along the Bay and across the Bay to Auckland. Beautiful view of sailboats in bluegreen water. The area reminds me of Puget Sound and San Fran but more tropical. We hung out at the top for awhile and then hiked back down and found a restaurant for lunch. Excellent food. Anyway Matt was a great intro to NZ. He had lots of good information and stories. He has traveled all over the world and said that this is by far the best place he has ever been. He said the people are incredibly open and friendly and the scenery is incredible. He was so enthusiastic it was contagious. Nothing like hearing a good report from a fellow traveler who has just finished up their journey.

We headed back to the "Base". I got checked in and Matt got his stuff together and headed to the airport. Thanks Matt for the good company and conversation.

I checked in to my small room overlooking the city streets and buildings. Its on the sixth floor which is nice for a street view of the Bay and people watching from above. After a rest I got my cell phone hooked up to a NZ cell carrier. I booked my train trip from Auckland to Wellington and got a Base Backpackers hostel card and room deal. Then I started putting my bike together. It was a chore in my small room. I forgot to take the disc brake pads out and lost a couple during transit. I lost the skewery for my BOB wheel so I have to try to find a replacement today. I'm taking my bike out for a spin today and see if I need to do any fine tuning. Luckily there is a bike shop a block away. I'm also headed out to find fuel for my Jet Boil. I can't wait to head out. I'm hopping on Transcontinental train tomorrow for a 12 hour train ride to Wellington. Then to the next "Base Backpackers (Base)" hostel. Hopefully I'll hook up with a women's mt. bike group down there that I discovered on the internet for some mt. biking. I was told you can access trails right from town.

Well I'm off to get all my errands done. Next entry will be from Wellington with colorful descriptions of what is described as an incredibly beautiful journey through some of North Island's most beautiful scenery.

No photos yet. Need to find a place I can upload them. Stay tuned.......

Lisa
Back Yard Adventure Girl



Advertisement



14th January 2006

thanks for the updates!
Lisa, I am having so much fun reading about your trip! With two young kids I could never travel to far off places, and I have always dreamed of going to New Zealand. I am living vicariously through you and love it! Have fun, be safe and keep up the travel logs! Sara

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb