I've Gotta Ticket to Ride the Sky Bus


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
January 6th 2006
Published: March 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I'm headed out the door for my 20+ hours of flying. (disclaimer: I thought I'd better send this tonight since I'll probably be madly trying to get it together tomorrow to make it to my flight in time) Seattle to LA. LA to Auckland. The day is finally here. I have my travel tunes and a few good books for the trip. Its amazing. All the planning, getting the right gear, packing, finishing up loose ends and then....I'm off. 2 months of adventure in the southern hemisphere.

So far things have lined up well. A friend's cousin is picking me up from Auckland airport. I warned him I'm traveling with lots of gear. He said he'd borrow his daughter's van. Lucky me.

I've got 70pds of dead weight to be exact. Its amazing how so little can seem like a lot when your pulling it up a huge mountain. I may be shipping items back to the states. Hmmm, don't need that extra tube. Ditch the hair brush. Out with the extra camera. Forget the stove, the tent, and the thermarest. I'll just rough it or head to a 5 star hotel instead. Who needs rain gear anyway? Its not like I'm going to visit the Pacific Northwest.

Here is a link to
Trip Styles


Next time you here from me will probably be in downtown Auckland at the Backpackers Hostel. Its my first stop and the beginning of my journey south.

Lisa
Backyard Adventure Girl

Advertisement



13th January 2006

you go girl!!
Hope you arrived safely and are having a great first day in New Zealand!!!

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb