The City of Sails


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
April 9th 2008
Published: April 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I dont know if I have enough space to describe exactly how awesome Auckland is. My hostel is located downtown, right on Queen St., literally right around the corner from the Sky Tower . Yesterday I started by going to the New Zealand Maritime Museum, then headed out for a walk around. I probably ended up walking about 8 to 10 miles, all the way across the city, visiting the Auckland Domain (a huge park) and then all down Parnell St. I got lost for hours wandering around the neighborhoods... I kept waiting to stumble upon a crappy area or run-down apartment complex, but didn't find any. The city reminds me a lot of Cambridge in Boston, except minus all the tourism, and its like that pretty much everywhere. Really an amazing place. I walked until my feet hurt, then came back to the hostel to crash.
I also fell in love with a park right up the street from the hostel, in the downtown area, called Albert park. I got some good pictures of it (I think).
Today I started with a free tour, heading out to the west coast, and then stopping at a winery on the way back. Then
nuff saidnuff saidnuff said

albert park again
I set out by foot and ferry for Devonport, just across the harbor from downtown Auckland. (Daily fun fact: Auckland is one of two major cities in the world that has two harbors; the other is Singapore... I'll be there in 4 days). While there, I climbed Mt. Victoria for a great view and some really cool pictures.
Tomorrow I'm going canyoning , which looks like a pretty good rush. The route I'm going is supposed to be less challenging, but has more jumps as opposed to repelling. I figured the jumps would be more fun, but I'll have to wait to see. Speaking of an epinephrine rush (nerdy joke...) two guys I was playing pool with two nights ago work at the Sky Tower, doing the jumps from the top... I want to do it, but its very expensive for an 8 second fall. Oh and good news for you, Mom, but the Auckland Bay Bridge Bungee is closed right now, so it looks like thats not a possibility.
This will probably be my last post from NZ, since i'll be canyoning all day tomorrow and then leaving for Kuala Lumpur on Friday. For those of you craving pictures from
another from albert parkanother from albert parkanother from albert park

the proximity of this beautiful park to the cbd is amazing
Fiji, I've taken about 130 since arriving in Kiwi land. Enjoy, and I look forward to your comments!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

REAL surf fishingREAL surf fishing
REAL surf fishing

these guys were crazy... the tour guide says they'll get washed out sometimes. so i decided to get up close and take some pictures
ouchouch
ouch

I managed to make it out alive, with only some wet shoes and a few great pictures to show for it
on top of the worldon top of the world
on top of the world

taken from davenport


9th April 2008

God does answer prayers!
Thank heavens the bridge is closed for bungee jumping cuz I KNOW you would've done it! Let's find a NZ cruise and rope Grandpa/Gma into it!!
9th April 2008

all i can say is that this won't be your last time going....you're going to come back with me later!!!!!!!
10th April 2008

Hey there!!!
I LOVE the bumper sticker for the radio station. Ridiculous! This posting was so "Michael"... I felt like you were in the room. Good feeling. Sounds like an amazing place, I think "Traveling Matt" is already booking a trip there! I know you'll be glad to see your dad in a few days. I hope you two have the greatest, never-to-be-forgotten time. Ciao! (You're still the recipient of the second decade of my rosaries... can you feel the love??)

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb