Newlands update


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
January 1st 2008
Published: January 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Boys dorm Boys dorm Boys dorm

Mike (volunteer) with some of the boys playing on the new dorm beds.
It's been over two months since I left Moshi, so I thought some of you might like an update on the progress at the Newlands Orphanage. Given that it's a new year, I thought this would be a good time to once again thank all of you who donated, or offered to donate in support of the work I (and many others) did at the orphanage last year. I was pleasantly surprised to receive donations from perfect strangers in addition to my friends and business associates. The power of the internet continues to surprise me!

Thanks to the generosity of many donors, not just my friends but the generosity of the other volunteers friends and families as well, the children were able to receive new dorms, new mattresses, new beds for the boys rooms, a new kitchen, new toilet/shower facilities and classrooms that the very able volunteers could use to work with the children. Their nutrional needs are being looked after and the children are getting medical attention that wasn't previously available. Sarah Carroll from the Hostel Hoff was the instigator of these changes and her vision with the support of volunteers from around the world have made life much
Beds in roomBeds in roomBeds in room

The new bunk beds in the boys dorm. Just waiting for the mattresses....
better for these children.

I've included a few photos of the painted boys dorms with the new beds. I don't have pictures of the finished rooms, but they have been fully furnished. I hope to get some new pictures once the new volunteers arrive (post holidays). Kevin Knox from SMU's Cox School of Business was kind enough to coordinate a donation of t-shirts by Kevin Hall at Shattersports for all the kids. They generously printed up a special order and shipped the shirts to Tanzania. Unfortunately, those shirts are still tied up in customs in Dar es Salaam and there is some red tape to get through to get the shirts out (some sort of tax issue). Since I'm not there (and rarely in one place for more than a few days), it's difficult to coordinate...but I'm very hopeful that their efforts to give a gift to these children will result in the kids actually receiving them. Sarah is too busy to get the details on what is needed so I'm hoping she can get one of the new volunteers to help out. If anyone is interested in independent volunteering, check out the website for Path to Africa, http://www.hostelhoff.com/.
Newlands ClassroomNewlands ClassroomNewlands Classroom

The orphanage received some new cabinets to store classroom materials and toys. These were bought with the donations received by some of the volunteers.
The previous website www.foot2afrika.com is no long associated with Sarah Carroll or the volunteer work at Newlands. Please visit the Path to Africa website for accurate information. Remember, it's Africa and it you want to make sure you know who you are dealing with.

I'll do my best to update you within my upcoming blogs as I get new information. For those volunteers who read my blog, please feel free to comment and let the other readers know about progress I may not be aware of (or have forgotten). Thanks again for all your generous support (financial and emotional)! Best wishes for a Happy and Prosperous 2008!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Teacher KarenTeacher Karen
Teacher Karen

Volunteer Karen (aka "Teacha" Karen) diligently worked with the children to teach them English Monday-Friday. She has gone home for the holidays, but will be back after Christmas to train some new teachers.
The ChildrenThe Children
The Children

The orphans at Newlands in Moshi, Tanzania.


28th January 2010

Volunteer in July
Hi, I'm planning to volunteer in Tanzania with Path to Africa...I'd like to know if it's a safe organization, since I'm about to pay 25% of my stay. Regards,

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb