Around Kiwi Land in 80 days


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
July 4th 2005
Published: July 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I am writing my last entry before returning to the States. A sadness hangs in my heart as I say goodbye to my home for the last 3 months.

I took a walk around Auckland, the largest NZ city yesterday, down to the wharf, through downtown, and up a volcano. Auckland has several volcanos jutting out of the plains. It's almost comical, as the volcanos are small hills randomly placed around the city. At the top of Mt. Eden I had a complete view of the entire city and the harbors. I walked down into the volcano (about 50 meters). It is only a large crater now covered in green grass and a few volcanic rocks in the bottom that look purposly placed for effect.

I was very amused when oversees tourists asked to have their picture with me. I think they thought I was a local and wanted to show people back home what European decendants look like.

Auckland is very American with five Starbucks on the same street as my hostel and even a 3 story Borders. It doesn't have the personality that Wellington has or the scenery of the South Island. The entire city is geared up for the last remaining games of the Lions Series (vs. Auckland tonight and All Blacks on the 9th). Most of the city is booked and the prices for accomadation have skyrocketed. Maybe its good to leave now.

I will talk to you again on the other side of the equator.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb