Do you feel good, do you feel all right, tonight?


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
March 2nd 2007
Published: March 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me, Lino, and MarcelloMe, Lino, and MarcelloMe, Lino, and Marcello

Me nobre? Me nombre... Juan Pachanga. Me gusta!!
Okay, so maybe this won't be the most exciting entry but fuckit. Life is kind of normal these days. Well, not really normal. But more normal than it's been. I guess. And honestly, I really don't have the energy to properly explain what this experience of living and working in Auckland has been like. So I'll just stick to the basics and talk about nonsense, and save the rest for when I publish my memoirs.

New Year's was fun. But that's old news. Really, I haven't gone anywhere too far lately so there's not much travel to talk about. We go out. We hang out. We took a sailing trip to some islands around the harbor. We go to the beach. I learned to cook awesome spaghetti carbonara. My iPod battery is all screwed up. We discovered a great brew pub right on the water. I made friends with the Maoris who chill outside the church across the street from my apartment. Marcello went back to Italy. The Argentinian girls went back to Argentina. My friend Philip just came back from Christchurch. My friend Trini had a bicycle accident and needed stitches at 5 in the morning (details withheld). And
OttaviaOttaviaOttavia

New Year's Eve dinner preparations.
that's pretty much it.

Oh yeah, a couple weeks ago I moved to a new apartment only a block from my old one. I'm living with my friend Lino from Italy. He's crazy so we get along perfectly. Good crazy though, not like my old roommates who are crazy in a way that would make them great candidates for the Dr. Phil show. The new place is better than the other one, even though it's just as small and now I don't have a window in my room. But we have floor to ceiling windows in the livingroomkitchendiningroom with a great view. Anyway, I'll be living in the new apartment for about 6 more weeks until my plane leaves for Indonesia. So like I said, everything has pretty much become normal around here. We have our regular bars, our regular coffee places, our regular dinners, our regular circle jerks, our regular bukake parties... it's just like home.

And then there is the neverending excitement of work. I've managed to settle into the job. Basically what that means is now I'm comfortable showing up a half hour late every day, and I spend a lot of time emailing my
New Year's ChefNew Year's ChefNew Year's Chef

Ainhoa seems to be mangling the fish.
friends.

But I'll tell you why I love the job so much, it's the people. For example there's the guy who constantly says to me, "What's up, New Yoik?" Dude. Yoik? I'm sorry, but you're an idiot. Then there's the pretty but pudgy little blond secretary whose nickname amongst the guys is Rackalicious. Which I guess is accurate but only in the sense that the same holds true for most other moderately fat girls as well. Then there's the girl in my group who asked me if Alabama was a big city. Or how about the huge fat guy who looks like Oliver Hardy, can recite the entire McDonald's menu by heart, and insists on driving anywhere more than a block away? Or what about the woman who swallowed her coffee wrong and went into such a hysterical coughing fit that she wound up vomiting in the garbage can at her desk. I shit you not.

But as soon as I leave work I quite literally forget all about it. I check out the palm trees and the clear blue harbor on the way home. It's been a perfect 75 degrees and sunny here almost every day. The
The mealThe mealThe meal

New Year's feast.
sun doesn't set until 9:00. I'm getting off the computer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

New Year's night outNew Year's night out
New Year's night out

By this point Jorge definitely has no clue where he is.
MeMe
Me

Nice face.
ViewView
View

From the balcony of my old apartment.
View 2View 2
View 2

Also from the balcony.
I love an audienceI love an audience
I love an audience

Here's me playing the greatest song of all time, Total Eclipse of the Heart.
Empty StreetEmpty Street
Empty Street

Skytower view outside my apt building.
Myers ParkMyers Park
Myers Park

High view.
MarcelloMarcello
Marcello

Walking through the palm trees in Myers Park.
Argentina & IsraelArgentina & Israel
Argentina & Israel

Lucia, Maria, Solana, and Ofer.
Hanging outside the CityLodgeHanging outside the CityLodge
Hanging outside the CityLodge

Marcello and Matteo.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

From the balcony of my old apartment.
SardiniaSardinia
Sardinia

Me with Andrea and Alessandra and $5 liters.
SilviaSilvia
Silvia

Alessandra's sister comes to town.
Sailing TripSailing Trip
Sailing Trip

Heading out for a day of sun and swim and eat and drink.
Me and SilviaMe and Silvia
Me and Silvia

View of the skyline.
MagaliMagali
Magali

Relaxing.
Catching some sunCatching some sun
Catching some sun

Killer sunburn after this day.


2nd March 2007

$5 liters?
it must be a new day if gigowitz wants to get off of the computer. those bukake parties remind me of old times on first ave. that alan really looked forward to those parties. really, really looked forward to them. i wish someone in my office would throw up at their desk, it would sure make things more interesing for me. you should come home soon so i can stop refering to you in the past tense.
2nd March 2007

I am still laughing...
..at the woman who vomited by her desk. I had to call up Blaise and laugh with him about it so people didn't think I was crazy at work. Your apt looks cool and the views are awesome. I'm glad you're taking it all in stride and enjoying yourself. That's what it's all about, right? We went to Culture Club last weekend- we could have used those Elvis glasses the next day!
2nd March 2007

Holy Shit
You've been gone since Dec 2005??crazy... I wish my co-workers would puke at work too. Ah well, you can't have everything. Be safe, drink more, and for christ sake don't take any mispronounciations of New York Standing down brian, we have a reputation over here, OH!
3rd March 2007

Sup
Yeah I got 3 free chickens in rude health
3rd March 2007

poop
so i'm starting to read this fkin thing and my first thoughts are: (a) you're a good writer (b) when did you start talking in liters?....and as adin previously stated, past tense mosk is no good, ...it'll be good to see your ass soon so I can convince myself that this blog isn't just someone writin your biography after your untimely death...that sounded morbid but I assure you it isn't...keep chillin bud...you're the man...4th grade teacher, mr. platt
8th March 2007

missed
Brian it still seems like things are going great...you are truly missed here back in the states! We are going to be in Japan in July so hop a plane and come vist...Stephanie is belting out in the background that she misses you!! We are happy that things are going great and we are living through you.........BTW are you ever coming home, remember after 3 years you lose your NY stripes.
8th March 2007

Hey there, Finally another blog. There are those fat girls with no boobs, what do you call them?????? Just think, you will be leaving this job before you know it to continue your travels....
14th March 2007

Circle Jerks???
Hey Dude...only one month to bali... Finally back from the islands, pics looks great. Silvia the little sister, doesn't look too young to me. I'll drop you a line soon...
9th April 2007

couchsurfing
yo brian, i found this website, www.couchsurfing.com and thought of you. maybe you can get some use of it when you hit the road again. enjoy!

Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 85; dbt: 0.1872s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb