Indonesia


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia
May 13th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Gili TrawanganGili TrawanganGili Trawangan

Ahhhhhhhhhhhh
Well, after finally ridding myself of my frickin job (again), I'm back on the road. For the last 30 days I've been bouncing around Indonesia, specifically Bali and the tropical Gili Islands.

My first stop was Kuta Beach where I met back up with Alan for the first time in 6 months. Kuta is the most popular travellers spot in Indonesia. It has really good food, nightlife, and plenty of really pushy people trying to sell you dumb shit. It's also a surfing mecca. Not that I surf, but a billion travellers rocked out in Billabong gear and using the word gnarly can't be wrong. So Alan and I spent some time there catching up, wandering around, and hitting the bars.

After a few days we went to the town of Ubud which is about an hour and a half drive north. While in Ubud, we met up with a French girl named Jasmine. She had been doing volunteer work there for a couple months and showed us where a bunch of good stuff is. She also
introduced us to a Balinese guy named Putu who became our best friend and wound up travelling all around with us. It so happens he manages a house while the owner isn't staying there, and told us we should come check it out and he'd give us a good rate. So after a 15 minute ride from Ubud center, through rice paddies and lush forest, we arrive at what would become my home for the next 10 days. For $6 USD each per night, we had a huge 3 story house with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, big kitchen, open air living room, gazebo out back, fish ponds, balcony, and 2 servants who cooked and cleaned and did our laundry. But Alan and I aren't very demanding people so they were able to have a good time with us as well. We threw parties there, cooked up a storm, had traditional Balinese BBQ and smoked
chicken dinners, went out to the bars in town, and slept late. Putu showed us the famous places for suckling pig and ribs, and took us on a road trip with our motorbikes where we ventured much further out to rice terraces and Mt. Batur. He drove with us back into Kuta for an evening because there was a show I wanted to see, and while we were
On the BeachOn the BeachOn the Beach

Lots of surfing.
there we went to a well known seafood spot called Jimbaran Bay.

As hard as it was to leave Ubud, after 10 days I was ready for some beaches. So I left Alan and headed to the island of Gili Trawangan which is one of the most amazing beaches you can imagine. To get there, I spent one night in a weird little town called Padangbai before catching a 5 hour ferry. I met some good people on the boat including a Swede named Malin who was really cool. Finally we got there and it was really paradise. The island is so small you can walk around it in 90 minutes. There are no vehicles, the only transport available is horse-drawn carts... not that you ever really need them. It's another popular traveller's spot, not overwhelmingly crowded but plenty of people where it's real easy to meet others. So I made some new friends and lounged on the beach for 10 days. Then it was back to Kuta for 2 days where I met back up with Alan before splitting up again and heading to Kuala Lumpur, which is where I am right now. My brother gets here in
Taking a BreakTaking a BreakTaking a Break

Hang ten, dewd.
a few days, so the brothers Moskowitz
are about to tear up Malaysia for the next 2 weeks.

I left out plenty of details, but I'm hungry and I want to go eat, so just enjoy the pics I guess.


Additional photos below
Photos: 67, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

The PoolThe Pool
The Pool

At the first place we stayed in Kuta.
ReunitedReunited
Reunited

Right back into the swing of things.
The ManThe Man
The Man

Our beachside beer buddy.
MemorialMemorial
Memorial

Memorial in Kuta for the victims of the 2002 bombing.
Suji BungalowsSuji Bungalows
Suji Bungalows

Outside the door to our room in Kuta.
Our house in UbudOur house in Ubud
Our house in Ubud

Taken from the back yard.
GazeboGazebo
Gazebo

In our back yard.
Rice fieldsRice fields
Rice fields

Behind the house.
Nice and cleanNice and clean
Nice and clean

No matter how big a mess we made, it would look like this when we woke up.
ViewView
View

From the living room.
Inside the entranceInside the entrance
Inside the entrance

And fish ponds.
Our bikesOur bikes
Our bikes

Parked outside the house.
Small pathSmall path
Small path

Leading to our house.
VolcanoVolcano
Volcano

Another photo of the view from the living room.
My bedMy bed
My bed

Lux.
My bathroomMy bathroom
My bathroom

Jungle shower.


14th May 2007

yo yo
good to hear from you, bud...your house near ubud looks phat, man...beautiful...hey, leaving for europe in 2 weeks with the bro...any itch for italy jigga?
14th May 2007

I hope you have Putu's #...
cause that is an amazing place and I want to go there someday! :) That guy could make a killing renting that place out to people. You are so lucky that you are meeting these random people that hook you up. Damn. Now I am highly doubting that you will come back to the US to stay after you've been used to these amazing beaches and great food and stuff for the past year and change. We've lost you forever! Sniff, sniff :)
14th May 2007

Hey girl, you hungry?
What up Skwitz. Nice house, but it's no Henry Street.
14th May 2007

Takes one to now one...
Don't think I didn't catch the little monkey rip! Nice pics dude...
14th May 2007

moskowitzing
confirmed - my trip will be 2 weeks, not 2 years.
14th May 2007

Hello there. Glad to hear your travels are still going well. I love the $6.00 a day rent with personal chefs included, it doesn't get any better. NY is the same, miss you!
14th May 2007

I forgot to mention that it is confirmed, we will be in Spain from June 24-26 and then we will be in southern Italy until July 6th. If you are in the area let us know.
14th May 2007

Daggum!
Now this is more like it, that house looked insane! Enjoy and be safe bro!
16th May 2007

Keep enjoying!!!
So glad you decided to take this trip!!! Your travels are fabulous-I'm jealous!! Now, when you return you can write a book!!! So be sure the brothers Moskowitz enjoy every second!! Lots of love guys, Cousin Abbey
17th May 2007

Just want you to know I am a lurker
Hi Brian, I anxiously await your blogs and read them all carefully and look at your amazing pictures. I know I never write any comments........just wanted you to know I am a lurker. Any other lurkers out there? Have fun with Richard. Don't let him make you get too wild. Love, Aunt Debbie
17th May 2007

Reunited
Great reunited picture - you guys look so good and very happy. The pool is warm, the bar-b is on, the waves are rolling in, and the door is open. Love you both.
21st May 2007

Your a knick nack paddy wack buster
What can I say..... I basically looked at this for the pictures!!! You described most of this to me but nothing beats good pictures!!! So you best be back soon for the Toronto adventure with the Big Goon! Don't do anything I would. Actually reverse that. Go get it... I don't care where you get it..... Crab people crab people.... LBI coming up soon! Same house! and you will be here then! Mmmmmmm yes my name is jay robinson.....
22nd May 2007

like a dream
the house you stayed in. the entrance to your room and some of the pics. a few years ago i swear i dreamt of a place that was that almost to the tee.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb