Auckland!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
December 23rd 2006
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I made it! I remember being almost in disbelief when I actually landed in Auckland and took the bus to my hostel which was prepaid by the org. that helped me get my visa. It kind of looked like any other big city but the Asian influence is really apparent and there are sushi and asion fusion eateries on every corner. There are also depressing numbers of Starbucks, Burger Kings and Subways. I am proud to say (two months in) that I have yet to eat or buy anything from any of those places.

I was in Auckland for Thanksgiving and went to a restaurant that I had been told was serving a Thanksgiving meal for 20$. This was the first time I had to walk into a restaurant/ bar alone and I walked around the block several times before getting up the nerve to go in. When I finally walked in, I met two girls from California and we spent the rest of the evening (and morning) hanging out and drinking to celebrate a holiday that no one around us seemed to know existed.

After a few days of strolling around the city, my uncle John's brother Bob picked me up from my hostel downtown and took me to his house for the weekend. Regretfully I didn't take any pictures of my time with Bob and Aliisa and their two children but I will when I stop back through on my way home.

Monday morning I took a flight to Queenstown. The view from the airplane was amazing and I couldnt wait to get off and meet the Southern Alps.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb