Rob Roy Glacier


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Central Otago » Wanaka
December 2nd 2006
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My first real New Zealand hike is one of my favorites so far. This was the hike with the 5 fords on the dirt road to the trail head and my famous and inspiring friend Traci from Alaska and another girl Leah from Canada (a born again Christian engaged to be married upon her return to the states) described in a previous email.

The weather was a bit cloudy and we missed a lot of the views on the way up but it made the way down that much more fun. Looking back at my diary, my anxiety about my health has certainly diminished since this early point in my trip which is encouraging.

After the hike Traci and I went for an obligatory beer in town (which turned into a few) and then ravaged the grocery store for dinner supplies and chocolate.

We found her a perfect place to set up camp and hang her hammock over the lake and chatted and laughed (really hard, I remember this part because you don't often laugh that hard with people you have just met) until sunset.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



18th January 2007

love seeing you adventures
What an incredibly beautiful place you are in. I am soooo jealous. Keep up the positive health outlook. Miss you like crazy!!!!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb