New Zealand Adventure 2020


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
January 21st 2020
Published: January 21st 2020
Edit Blog Post

Off on an adventure



Sort of. Most of the roads in downtown Auckland are torn up which makes walking or driving a challenge. Instead of going walk-about I decided to experience High Tea. There was a large assortment of teas, I chose the Elderberry and Apple infusion, four finger sandwiches; salmon, egg salad, ham & cheese and a chicken curry puff. I don’t do curry. There were three mini scones with clotted cream and an assortment of mini pastries. All were delicious. I decided to take a short nap before deciding on dinner.



Thirteen hours later, at five am., sleeping beauty awoke refreshed and ready to go. But I couldn’t head for the port till around noon. So I headed to the business center to print out my luggage tag. For an Apple user Microsoft was a real challenge. After being denied access repeatedly, I was finally able to locate the Hal website. Then it was a lesson in using the printer. What I discovered is that I can still figure things out. Next was a buffet breakfast with everything I enjoy in the morning and more. Headed up to the rooftop pool and deck and enjoyed watching the all male exercise nuts and staring across the city to the harbor.



The taxi ride cost $25nz and took forty five minutes. The pier was no more then four blocks from the hotel. Such is construction in Auckland. I saw more people with day-glo vest and hard hats than pedestrians.



Once at the pier I walked right on board. Never had a smoother embarkation. Drop off my carryons and Headed to Lido for a nice salad and met a couple sailing with Mom. Mom was from Salt Lake and the rest from Arkansas. From what they were saying I don’t think they were ever home. I thought I traveled a lot but not even close. Same with my dinner companions Rob, Sandy and Bill. This is one of the things I love about cruising, comparing ports and sharing experiences.

Tomorrow will be our first port, Bay of Islands.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0896s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb