Waiheke Island


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Waiheke Island
March 4th 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Before started working, we decided to treat ourselves a traveler. Decided to go to Waiheke Island, one of the nearby island from Auckland.

We took Fullers Ferry from Auckland. Planned to hire bikes there as that’s the cheapest transportation. We hired the bikes from I-site, after half an hour, we realized it was a bad idea to hire bike in Waiheke Island, as the road going ups and downs, the slopes are really steep. Some more, we are too short for the bikes, our feet couldn’t touch the ground when we break.

That’s a serious problem man!! Coz cars were drifting by our side while we were trying to balance ourselves. And, I fell down from the bike, yes, in the middle of the road. I was so lucky that there were no car, and I still could walk, didn’t sprain any part, just that my knee and arms bled.

We sent the bikes back to I-site and get only 20% refund as we rent for a day. And we decided not to stay there overnight as there’s nothing much to spend our time. We hired a car instead, pretty expensive but I didn’t want to die in the middle of the road.

We went to Onetangi Beach, white sandy beach. The wind was freezing cold but I like the warm white sand.

Then we went to one of the vineyard and did wine tasting. For the first time we tasted Sauvignon Blanc. We fell in love with white wine. Both Claire and me don’t like the red one so much.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb