Crimbo!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » North Shore
December 25th 2005
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

New YearNew YearNew Year

Fireworks at the Sky Tower from Aeotea Square, Auckland
My first New Zealand Christmas (and my first Christmas away from 'Home'!).

...but what a Christmas to remember!

Becky and Clive (and Addison) were the perfect hosts! They invited the waifs and strays to have a full on NZ style Christmas spread! After exchanging pressies and eating ourselves silly we headed down to Long Bay to relax on the beach. To be honest I think I was having more fun than Addison when it came to building sand castles! We then headed home for dessert (NZ have a whole shop dedicated to Cheesecakes!) so of course I was in my element having my traditional 'christmas pud!'

On boxing day, Kev and I played host to Matt and Chloe, having a BBQ out on the deck, some Christmas drinks and of course the compulsory Christmas board game! Just so it feels like home!

...and then New Year.... well, that was interesting! Kev and I headed into Auckland City to see what was going on....we headed up to Aoetea Square where there was loads of entertainment... but to our horror...after spending a while looking for the beer tent, we found a flyer saying it was an "alcohol and drug free event!" So, we swiftly left to find the nearest bar! At midnight we ventured back, just to watch the fireworks over the Sky Tower and then back to the pub... I think we both agree it was probably our most non-intentional soberest New Year!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb