A Case of the Moondays - See Office Space the movie


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Newmarket
August 28th 2006
Published: August 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

8/28/06 (Monday) - The Case of the Moondays - See Office Space the movie

I think I’m coming down with a bit of a cold. One of the new roommates had a bad cough and the smell in the room was so bad last night we decided to sleep with the windows open rather than closed. I’m the lucky one with the bed next to the window, so all night long I had cold air blowing over me.

Reminds me of a story where Ben Franklin had once told John Adams to leave the window open when they were sharing a room (bed) together (would be scandalous political news today). The story goes that John had gotten out of bed to shut the windows and Ben forbade him from closing them. He said something along the lines of “Come back to bed and I will explain the virtues of sleeping with the windows open.” (not a direct quote, from my poor memory of the David McCullough’s “John Adams ”, I just loved the that story). They didn’t get sick that night and I guess the next day felt fine.

I was not so lucky. I’ve got a bit of a sore throat and still feel chilled.

It also didn’t help that while I was writing last night’s blog (11:30pm) the internet café owner was smoking up a storm just outside the shop door. A heavy smoke cloud hung around me even after I’d left the shop.

I also noticed that for a number of hours over the weekend I was feeling down now that the challenge of finding work seemed to be resolved. I’ve got a second wind in that arena and am unworried about keeping myself focused and challenged.

Another very beautiful day today. 17 degrees. Each day that I’ve been here there has been a perceptible warming trend. I’m starting to brown, I’ll need to start wearing sunscreen on a regular basis.

For people in the know, can anyone suggest a good Digital SLR camera? Looking for something under $1000American, interchangeable lenses, durable, etc….(I’m thinking Olympus or Nikon) I’ve started to push my weak little 3.2 Megapixle camera to its limits.

Thanks everyone for your comments. I hope to get a chance to send personalized mail, email, etc soon!

Update: Sign the papers tomorrow. Took a look at two nice flats near Newmarket. I’m going to go to bed early tonight. Quiz night tomorrow at the pub, I hope to have better news this week.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Pool NightPool Night
Pool Night

The balls are about 2/3 the size of balls in America. This particular night myself and the Canadian with the beard won this game.


28th August 2006

Nice to hear from you!!
Donavin - I'm glad to finally hear from you. I just received your last 3 blogs on my computer this morning (August 28th). I'm happy for you (and a little envious) that you are continuing your world tour - it sounds like you are having a great time and meeting lots of interesting people. Please continue to send your e-mails. Have a great time.
30th August 2006

camera
hi donavin- sam gave me an olympus evolt e-500 digital slr. it was a kit that contained 2 lens a 14-45mm and a 40-150 mm he got it at www.butterflyphoto.com. this camera is awesome and it was under 1000. anyways this place also shows other cameras so you can compare. take care. fern and sam
1st September 2006

Hi Fern
Did you see the photo for you?

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 18; qc: 87; dbt: 0.1008s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb