Finally leaving!


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji
June 13th 2008
Published: June 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I quit my job on Sept 28th so that I could get a bunch of projects done around the house in order to rent it while we're traveling for a year. I thought it would take about 3 months. Well I had the dumbest idea ever and suffered for it.

We have a seasonal creek that runs across our property and it often caused us a bunch of headaches when we got a lot of rain. A pipe that ran through needed to be replaced and I wanted to improve the appearance of the ugly concrete and cinder block overflow channel. So I thought it would be cool to pour concrete in a rippling design and then essentially tile it with pebbles. Um, duh, imagine how long it takes to tile about 300 square feet with pebbles. Yeah, like 7 months. Ugh!

Check out the pictures of my crazy project. That's supposed to be a sea serpent on the right. The other side is interspersed with bits and bobs of interesting things that have been laying around the house.

The good news is that we are finally leaving for Fiji on Monday. Will blog from there and beyond. Everyone have a great weekend!

Advertisement



13th June 2008

Awesome!
Wow, hard work but it paid off woman! It looks marvelous darling... be proud of your idea, art should never be labeled by the time but the love, energy and YOUR creativeness put into it .. its looks great and probably very functional too .. kudos should go to you .... glad I'm on your blog I wish you both well enjoy your trip and are you sure you can't take me with you???? Let me feel like i am through this site, OK?
14th June 2008

hurray
congratulations, enjoy and we are sooooooo jealous. We will just have to live vicariously through you both... Be safe and make memories of a lifetime. Hugs and Kisses, Lupe and Andy Pardue
14th June 2008

Looks great
Lisa and Toby, I love the work you did on the overflow channel. Well worth the time and effort. Have fun on your adventure. We'll be waiting for your blog entries.
14th June 2008

Looks Cool!
How many days that take to do?
16th June 2008

Wow!
Well, it certainly looks aweome! Sorry it took you so long, but it is really cool. And bon voyage, too! Looking forward to hearing about your adventures! Living vicariously and all that. :)
23rd June 2008

Thanks!
We are finally doing it. Can you believe it! I wish you were here with us. You would LOVE it! Beautiful and culturally amazing. Ciao girlie
23rd June 2008

Thanks for the well wishes
We are having a great time. You guys would love Fiji. It's like Hawaii but the locals are way friendlier. Okay, so the place may need a bit of spit and polish. But it's certainly got character!
23rd June 2008

Thanks!
We are having a great time. You guys would love Fiji. It's like Hawaii but the locals are way friendlier. Okay, so the place may need a bit of spit and polish. But it's certainly got character!
23rd June 2008

he, he
It took SEVEN months. Stupid, huh?
23rd June 2008

Thanks for commenting on the blog
I'd tell you that you'd like it her but it's way too hot for a chick that needs a fan in Pacoima. ;-) And the funny thing is that I see the locals in little beanies and buying blankets because it's "winter" here. Jeez!
4th July 2008

Awesome Sea Serpent
I really like your sea serpent! Sound like you have a very cool trip going on there. I moved to Kauai, HI in December. Am planning a Family Reunion in Lake Hughes, CA end of July, but it looks like you and Toby will be gone for quite a while. Your trip sounds very exciting, I will have to follow your blog. Your cousin, Jonathan Pehrson
6th July 2008

Moved to Kauai?!
You are one lucky guy! Toby and I would LOVE to live in Kauai. It's our favorite island. Have fun at the reunion. Ciao

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb