Couldn update the blog before cos Mam would worry


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands
August 3rd 2009
Published: October 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 105 (Monday 03/08/09, NJJ)
Enjoyed the delicious continental breakfast then down to the beach. Hired snorkelling gear then off into the sea. We had to swim out through a channel as it was low tide and the water over the reef is very shallow and in some places below the reef. We were being very careful not to touch the reef. Then I had cramp and a freak wave knocked me on to the reef. I was panicking as I was stuck on the reef which meant I was touching it, OMG, and it was like being dragged across and then sat on razors! I was stranded with Jamie out in the open water helpless to my situation. I saw another big wave which I swam into and managed to get to Jamie PHEW. I was bleeding a bit and wanted to stay in the sea but Jamie said we had to go back in to shore (he could see all the cuts). Just as we were getting to the beach I started to picture sharks circling but luckily I had my feet on the ground seconds after. The blood started to run down my leg and I burst into tears for a few secs from shock. At the dive shop I was hosed down, checked over and then given iodine solution to cover all my cuts. Jamie applied it back at the bungalow but I had to lay down for it because I felt sick and faint. Another burst of tears and then I was able to laugh it all off. Delicious food for lunch then back to the beach. Jamie went out snorkelling again and I watched, whilst feeling sorry for myself. I struggled in the shower as my hands were all cut to bits. To save money we shared our 1 cocktail of the night - a sunset cocktail. Dinner was Fijian curry night - delicious.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb