Thanksgiving at the school


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Viti Levu » Suva
February 10th 2011
Published: February 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My host father and I were talking about our families and he asked if I wanted to see the video of his youngest daughters wedding. Of course, I said yes! Its a two day affair with their extended family coming from several countries including Australia, Canada and the US. There are gifts presented and lots of music and dancing. There are special ceremonies that just involve the husband to be and the bride's father. Then special ceremonies just for the bride to be. It was all so interesting. I loved watching how involved each member of the family and extended family are involved. The wedding itself was beautiful. The bride looked amazing! She was in this beautiful red dress trimmed with jewels and gold decoration. They she had on this cool jewelry and make-up that included gems around her eyes. It was so different! Pradeep is trying to see if he can take me to a wedding while I'm here. He manages a Hindu band and if they play at a wedding, he's going to take me. The head teacher is letting me borrow a traditional Hindu dress so that if I go, I have something to wear! I really can't get over the warmth of all the people here!

The only bad thing thus far is that all the curry has gotten to me and my body is not happy. I've taken a break from all the food and spent most of yesterday not eating. I drank a lot of tea and water and am feeling better today. Thank goodness!

Last night I met up with the PA volunteer coordinator and operations manager at a bar/restaurant in Suva. I got to ride in the mini bus taxi to Suva which is about a 30 min drive. And what a great drive. I was able to see that Suva actually sits in a harbor up against a mountain. Where I am in Nausori is a river delta or valley. So we had to go up and over the mountain and then back down again to go into Suva. I could also see the mountain range that covers much of the interior of the country. It was great! I loved the drive. We were dropped off in an area of Suva that I did not recongize so I had to ask the driver for directions. One right and one left and I was back to an area I knew! I walked around a bit and then settled into the coffee shop. I was reading and waiting for my contact when a Fijian stopped me to ask some advice. He wants to ask out this co-worker of his, but he's afraid she'll say no since they work together. His male friends told him to buy Cosmopolitan (the magazine) so that he could figure out how women think. He said that he didn't really get the answers he needed from the mag and that he wondered what I would do. We talked back and forth for about 10 mins and I finally suggested that he should casually go by her desk the next time he was going out for a coffee and ask her to go with him. Then, from there, he could gauge if she was interested in him. He liked that idea! He thanked me and I said good luck! This was such a cool moment...the poor men all over the world...you all have the same jitters and concerns. Its so cute to see! I hope it all worked out for him! He was very cute...so I'm thinking she probably said yes :-)

I left the coffee shop and met up with my contacts at a restaurant just down the street. I have to say, I really like Suva! Its a cool city with lots happening and people moving about. There is a great energy to it and people are still very friendly. I'm hoping to spend a Saturday walking around and getting to experience more of it. The hard thing here is that everything....EVERYTHING...is closed on Sunday. So I have to plan my weekends carefully so that I can see some things. I'll keep you all posted on this.

Today was a Thanksgiving ceremony and mass with the children at the school. All the girls came dressed in white dresses and the boys in a traditional sulu (like a skirt) that is black and a white shirt. Some even had on ties. There is nothing cuter than a 5 yr old boy in a tie! All of the parents come and the mothers make food/snacks. We had a 30 min service in the church where the children get up and sing some of the songs they've learned and then the minister prays with them and reads a story from the bible. All of the children sat very still and listened and seemed to really enjoy the service! I have to say, I did too! After the service everyone (kids/parents) came into the school. We sat with the kids while the mothers prepared all the snacks. I was able to talk with more parents today and am still getting questions about my background and how long I'll be here. I heard another story today that the one girl earlier this week was very upset that her parents would not help her right away with her family photo. They were completely confused as she tried to explain that the teacher brought stickers from very far away on the plane and it was very important to get one. I was laughing so hard. She's is one of my favorite little ones. So, now her parents understand what is going on. I was able to meet her mom today. This week has flown by at the school and I can't get over how much fun I'm having! Thank you for all the suggestions on songs. I'm going to try to teach the singing in the rain song that I know. Every other song that's been suggested, the teachers here know. But I really appreciate everyone's help. I left school a little early today because I'm catching a bus, then ferry to an island offshore for the weekend. As I was leaving the children playing in front of the school started yelling...good-bye teacher Courtney! Ah, be still my heart...

Sorry I don't have more photos. I have not had much of a chance to take many. I'm going to try to take some at the school next week. Its been raining most of the week here so photos of outside have been poor too. But I'm sure I'll have more to report from this weekend trip. Monday is a public holiday here and yes, even Fiji celebrates singles awareness day (Valentine's Day). I just cant' get away from it! So I'll be back to work on Tuesday and probably won't write again until after that. I hope you all have a great weekend!

Advertisement



11th February 2011

Happy Single Awareness Day!
Great blog! Love that you're the "very important teacher who brought stickers". :) Brilliant! Have fun this weekend! News from home: I donated 8.5 inches of my hair to Locks of Love. :) Now my hair is just above my shoulders. :) Also, I'm now doing fundraising and charity events (part-time) for Win's favorite bar.. ABY! :)
11th February 2011

Adventure girl
as always, CJ, you never cease to amaze me!! I am so proud and envious of one of my very favorite people! Enjoy the wild adventure you're on and keep sending the fantastic updates! Loving and missing you from the snowy Midwest!
12th February 2011

Cute!
Miss you, Teacher Courtney!! Can't wait to see a few pictures of the little ones!

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb