Leaving Fiji . . .


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Viti Levu » Nadi
October 2nd 2010
Published: February 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today is my last day in Fiji. I haven’t done much with it. Yesterday’s Seaspray tour was my big farewell treat. Today I just lounged in my bed until I had to check out of the dorm. I spent the afternoon reading, sorting and editing photos on my computer and just taking time to reflect.

Coming to Fiji has been at the top of my travel list for years. I’ve “planned” on making the trip here multiple times only to make other life choices or have things come up and get in the way. I began to fear that seeing Fiji was going to become the thing always said I’d do and never did. But I did it. I have such a great sense of satisfaction the entire time I’ve been here, just knowing that I’m checking it off that life list of things to do. It’s empowering and exciting when you can feel yourself making the most of your life.

The food at my backpackers is excellent. I had a great last dinner and watched the sun slip away over the water for the last time here. Soon after that, the skies opened and the rain just poured down. It kept raining while I waited for my taxi and rode back to the airport.

After checking in, customs and security, I picked up a final couple of souvenirs that I hadn’t been able to find anywhere else. And now it’s time to board the plane and make the long flight back over the Pacific to first LA and then home.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb