Walking Tour & Late Night Latin Beats


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
September 24th 2010
Published: October 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Friday, September 24, 2010

Today I went on a free walking tour, and located other people of my kind - tourists!

I went with 'My Australia' walking tours, and let me tell you, this was an awesome comprehensive walking tour complete with Vegemite sampling and plenty of great stories about Brisbane! It was about 4 hours long, and I think we stopped at just about all of the major landmarks in Bris. I had seen a lot of them while walking around on my own, but what a difference it made to have someone actually telling you what they were! Much more interesting!

Just some of the stops included: King George Square, City Hall, Anzac Square, the Anzac Memorial with the ever-burning flame, Post Office Square, Queen Street Mall, Treasury Building, Parliament, City Botanic Gardens, Old Governor's House, QUT Gardens, Goodwill Bridge, and South Bank.

After the tour, myself and another one of the girls from the tour went to see a few sights. We stopped by the Old Governor's House, which housed an interesting art exhibit.

After this, we went to the South Bank Markets, and had a look at some great arts and crafts. Definitely going to have to go back to these markets for some treats for all the folks at home! It was a great day for walking around, as the weather was warm and sunny!

After all this exploring, I headed home to get ready for a night at the Havana Club at the QPAC with Jodi's fantastic friends. I took the bus downtown (success - I actually made it!) and arrived at the QPAC. The "Late Night Latin Beats" Event was part of the Brisbane Festival. In the courtyard of the QPAC, they had tables galore, a big stage, lanterns hanging, it had a really Cuban feel to it! We sat, had a nice cuban inspired drink (they had Mojito's, Mango Daquiri's, and my favourite - the 'El Presidente'). They had great bands, professional dancers, and then the opportunity for everyone to get up and dance to the bands! I danced, yeah, thats right...not well, but I danced, lol. (It takes some of the fun out of it when you're counting "one, two, three, one two three" the whole time. It was like live 'Dancing with the Stars', complete with host! (Although I think this one was cuter than Tom Bergeron - no offense Tom).

What a fantastic day of exploring, meeting new people, hanging out with new friends, and of course, those Late Night Latin Beats!





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb