Mooloolaba Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Sunshine Coast » Mooloolaba
September 26th 2010
Published: October 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

BEACH DAY!

Today we headed off to the Sunshine Coast - Mooloolaba Beach, and I learned why Aussies love the beach so much!

The beach started out rocky, then as we walked along we got the white sandy area, where lots of people came out to enjoy the sun! They have a swimming area flagged off, based on the currents, and it's important for your own safety to stick to these areas!

White sand, boardies and togs, sun was shining... now, just to get into the water. I don't know if anyone has ever been swimming with me in a lake, but as you know - I don't like it. I freak out at the very thought of sea weed, and I last about 5 minutes before I panic and claim that I'd rather just relax on land. I thought I'd just go in up to my knees to appease everyone. However, after Jodi assured me that there were no jellyfish on the Sunshine coast, I was convinced to go out just a little bit further. CRASH! First wave hits, almost lost my suit (note to self - go shopping for boardies ASAP), salty water in my face, I can taste it (why am I suddenly craving potato chips?) - and I'm not so impressed. I get my lesson in going over the wave, or going under if it's already breaking. So, next wave comes along, Jodi gives me the signal to go under, I grab her arm for dear life, plug my nose, and down we go! WHOOSH! The feel and the sound of the water crashing into you while you're safely under the water is SO exhiliating! I'm hooked!! Again and again we took on the waves, either going over them or ducking them. Jodi said how surprised she was that I got so comfortable quickly and I have to say, I was also pretty shocked and proud of myself! Who knew I'd love the ocean so much when I can hardly convince myself to get into the lake! The water is just so clear, you can see your feet all the time. I think it also helped at according to Jodi and Christine, these waves were pretty small (I'm thinkin' SMALL?! These are SMALL?! - I'm in trouble).

Only problem, without proper boardies one must watch their togs carefully to fix them and "readjust" things after a big wave. No major mishaps this time, but I'm definitely getting boardies as a preventitive measure for next time!

On the way home, we stopped in at Aussie World for dinner at the Ettamogah Pub. The was a truck on the roof. need I say more? I found some info at the pub, and apparently the truck is "a 1927 Chevy from a property in Roma. It's said to have washed up there in the 1991 floods and non of the regulars could be bothered to get it back down!" The pub itself was a several storied sight to see! They even had a shed, (former sheep shearing shed I think) that you can rent out for functions - anyone getting married soon?



Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb