THE FLYING KANGAROO DEPARTS AUSTRALIA


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
January 15th 2007
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Finally - I'm on my way!

No problems going through check-in at the Airport, however there was sneaky secod weigh-in just around the Departure Entrance door. I had already put the books, etc that I carried, back into my carry-on bag, so it weighed in at 7.5 kg. The person in charge let me through, but while we were standing in the Customs line, I saw three other people told to take their bags back down to be checked in because they were too heavy. And despite what I was told about the new one-bag policy, all the women had a handbag as well as their carry-on! 'Bugger!'

Had a smooth flight over, arriving at 4.30pm. We came down through black clouds, into misty rain, 24deg. and the soft humidity that is Singapore. Changi Airport is HUGE. After clearing Customs here, I walked around trying to find the Sky Train to Terminal 2 to catch a train to my Hostel. Following 2 sets of directions, I found my way back to where I started from - it was the lucky third person who gave me the right ones. Then as I was trying to figure out the new ticket system and which level to catch the MRT from, a young lass helped me out. Turned out she was going the full distance minus 2 stations. So she showed me the pay system and we did our 3 train changes without a hitch. - a 70 minute trip because I have come from the Airport almost across Singapore Island to the Johore Bahru Border(10 minutes from the Hostel. Only a minute's walk brought me to the Hostel, which is quirky, colourful and friendly and in the heartland of the Chinese residential district.

I have a feeling that the MRT and I will become very familiar with each other over the next few days. I've been given maps and brochures of the sights and also timetables, etc. Seems like I'm going to see a lot I haven't seen before. Yang (the hostel owner) told me that the Singapore Zoo has been added to since I was last here and there is more to experience at the Night Zoo as well.

Am quite tired now, so it's early to bed for me. And maybe tomorrow, I can figure out how to get my MP3 player to play my music! Never mind, there are so many high tech shops over here, someone will be able to sort me out.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb