The Final Countdown!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
December 22nd 2006
Published: December 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's hard to believe - in just over 3 weeks, I'll be setting off on my long-awaited 6 months odyssey. Two weeks from now, I will be officially classed as 'a Senior Citizen' and in receipt of the Aged Pension. One thing though - where in my small carry-on-board bag (not taking any other luggage), am I going to fit the walking stick? Perhaps if I get a folding one?

Have re-booked most of the accommodation which had to be cancelled when the original trip was postponed. Have joined the YHA/Hostelling International last week and purchased my Eurorail Spain Pass at the same time. After a week immersed in the delights of Barcelona, I plan to train-hop along the Southern Coast. I look forward to exploring some of the Moorish-influenced architecture of Valencia, Alicante, Granada, Seville, Cordoba, and Alcazar. And if I'm lucky, catch up with the Gypsies who still play and dance their passionate Flamenco. Then on up to Madrid in time to catch my flight out to South America.

In the meantime, I am still wrestling with decisions; "which is the best Travel Insurance for the type of trip I'm taking?"and "will it be a debit card, a credit card, or a Cash Passport Card?" and "will the long travel skirt, specially-designed with security, adaptability and comfort, arrive from America before I leave Australia? These necessary choices and decisions are helping time fly, keeping mind and hands occupied with no time for impatience or boredom. Now if I can just switch off the incessant 'chatter' that starts up as soon as my head hits the pillow ready for sleep!

Never mind, there's still the distractions of Christmas and New Year in between. And whenever I think about what awaits me in the next 6 months, I feel fortunate in having been given this wonderful, scary, exciting, opportunity.

Ibu












Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.041s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb