The Bib


Advertisement
Published: March 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well it's been a blissful week in WA. The sun has pretty much shone on us for most of the week - except for a shower or two on the track on Thursday. I'll get the walk info out of the way & move on to more interesting subjects.

Spectacular is the easiest way to describe the scenery here in the south west. If my camera takes one more photo of a tortured, rugged coast line it'll probably freeze up! It's all very much like the Great Ocean Road without the road. We're walking through fairly rugged country, over cliff tops and in the back bush of the "Great" Southern Ocean (we think they need to put "Great" in there - they do it for all other Australian things).

We're usually the only two people walking on the track. We've only seen 2 different groups the whole time on the track. One was a young 'boy' (about 20) doing his own Biggest Loser - well at least that's what we think - he was pretty huge & was intending to complete the whole 1000 or so km on his own.

One thing we're not particularly happy about is the abundance of snakes. Lusty has a new name - "Snake Whisperer". She has spotted all the big nasty West Tiger Snakes. I've developed a great talent for stopping and retreating in a very agile manner - Steve Irwin would have been proud - then there's the scurry past the place the said beast was sighted to continue on our way. My heart rate monitor is detecting a very elevate rate post these incidents.

Lusty has been charged with finding a topic of discussion every day - so far these have been : eyebrow fetishes, socks, oceans & seas of the world & a few other entertaining subjects - but what is said on the track stays on the track my friends & I'd have to kill you if I divulged any the content.

By far the most entertaining part if our trip is coming to the realisation that my true vocation in life is starting to reveal itself. In fact it is now evident that it's been genetically hardwired. I'm a Nuff Nuff Charmer. It would appear that any form of public transport, transport provider, hostel owner, hostel resident that has a nuffer present, they naturally gravitate toward me - perhaps they see me as a kindred spirit?

So one of the first things I'm doing when I get home is to devise an excel matrix of "Characters". On the X axis is a list of the different types of characters: nuffers, nutters, looney, crackers etc & on the Y axis is the list of characteristics: means well, good heart, looney, crackers, can't shut up, thinks you're interested, shonkey, dodgy, thinks he knows it all but actually knows Jack Shite, etc & then rank each of the characteristics agains each type of character. Then I'll devise the most appropriate way of dealing with these individuals in the most polite manner possible. It will be a wonderful service to the greater community - especially the "unsuspecting" traveller!

So Lusty & my roles are clearly defined now. She charms the snakes of the track & I charm the nuffers. For me I suppose it's the lesser of two evils.

Until the next time bloggees.

Lusty & the G-Meister
aka Snake Whisperer & Nuff Nuff Charmer

Advertisement



26th March 2007

you hilarious
hey ange, you hilarious (how would the spanish say that?). Sounds like a great trip. keep charming...
29th March 2007

Nuff Nuff Magnet
Lordy, Toots... am I glad you know how to charm 'em. I can lure 'em but don't know what to do with them then! Lusty is living life on the edge with those snakes. Careful Girlies! Looking forward to the next chapter. Mwah!

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb