End of the road (track)


Advertisement
Published: March 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, we're all Bibbed out. To be honest, if I saw another tiger snake I'd have to change my preferred choice of underwear to "Depend"! You'd think that you'd become de-sensitised by the constant viewing of the beasts - however, I think my paranoia increased! I can cope with the gorgeous sweeping views of the GREAT Southern Ocean, the glorious towering Karri, Marri, Tingle and Jarrah trees, the tiny and sparsely spaced wild flowers, coastal grasses and bushes, but those bloody snakes just ruin it for me!

We spent Monday & Tuesday in the mill town of Pemberton. Lusty & I were disappointed for the first time to find that our guide down the Donnelly River was well - actually normal! He was even rather intelligent, articulate and humoured us by pretending to appreciate our HILARIOUS running commentary! The Donnelly River is a pristine wilderness which runs out into the GREAT Southern Ocean & it was a lovely way to spend a very rainy afternoon. (The boat was covered and they served fresh raspberry muffins & milo). The next day was our last on the bib - walking through the glorious trees with the rain gently falling - we made a small deviation from the track & found a great winery serving a lovely warming laksa!

Yesterday & today was spent in Margaret River. A wine tour yesterday & cycling around today - we caught some of the Pro surfing competition & a couple more wineries 😊

Tomorrow is the long journey home... 5 hours on a bus to Perth, then a 9 hour wait before my red-eye flight home. Lots of 'I spy', celebrity head & solitare me thinks & lets not forget that I'm bound to meet some new 'friends' on the way... ample opportunity me thinks for the new research project that is my vocation!

Adios amigos

Whisperer & Charmer

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb