Leaving on a jet plane ...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
December 2nd 2012
Published: December 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

My father dropped Maria and I off at the Perth International Airport. We were greated by the least friendly check in server I have ever met. She was only starting her shift and was really grumpy. I can't believe the stress checking in today. Never realised I had to produce a full itinerary. Because I'd changed flights at the last minute I only had quick access to the flights over and not the return flights. Never again.

Going through customs was interesting, they take the 100ml limit literally. So even if a 120ml container is half full you can'it throat through. So Maria lost her face cream! But on the positive side, as a Qantas Club member, Maria was able to get me a guest visit to sample their wares by 2130. It was quite luxurious sipping red wine and eating roasted almonds. The antipasti platter was beautiful and a small helping of corn chowder sealed the meal.

Peigi finally wrenched herself from her boyfriend and joined us at 2245. We briefly shared an intimate moment in the bathroom as Peigi was not brave as I, to self inject Clexane.

We boarded our flight at 2315. The african hostesses greeted us with a smiles. We settled in our seats allocated near the back of the plane, 63 G H K and opened our parcels. Red socks, eye mask, toothbrush and paste, red blanket and small pillow. Hmm obviously we are going to need these to get some form of sleep in cattle class. Not daring to spare a thought on the fact that Ailine and David are traveling first class!

The South African Airways flight was a little slow to get off the ground As the jet finally lifted, its wings waved goodbye to Perth in unison. We were finally on our way for the trip of a lifetime. I have to say I was surprised the briefing said nothing about keeping moving and avoiding clots.

Despite several concerns raised by family members, my sisters and I have taken the leap to return to our homeland. So with a mix of trepidation and excitement, like an impending jump off a cliff, we settled into the 11 hour flight.

We were very surprised to be given dinner at midnight but waded through the chicken and mushroom pasta anyway, followed by a glance at the seafood salad, a nibble on some cheese and biscuits and washed down with tea.

Talking about tea, I can't wait to try authentic Rooibos tea. Smell the lingering night air as I survey the savannah at Kruger National Park.

Our allocated hostess was kind enough to serve us drinks any time we wanted. And we wanted plenty.

However, despite plenty of fluids, I have been given more than I was expecting from a very generous passenger. Now I wish I'd brought my Zovirax! The ravenous use of tissues has dwindled the cabin supply. Anyway, I promised myself no negativity.

After eight hours into the flight, Peigi was very keen to disembark. But unfortunately there were no exits open over the Atlantic sea. We endured the last two and a half hours by milling around the service areas, drinking tea and eating Maria's chips. Well Peigi did anyway. I just watched.

Breakfast was served with two hours of the flight to go. Bacon,scrambled eggs and a vegetable cake, followed by passion fruit Greek yoghurt. I left the fruit unfortunately not as appetizing. And took a glance at the croissant, quickly deciding that it was not destined for my digestion. Another cup of tea and it's over.

I'm excited to trace the family lodgings. Revisit special places we visited as children and locate family and friends after 30 years. This trip of a lifetime is definitely packed tight and best described as a trip down memory lane.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb