Finally...some surfing!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
September 2nd 2009
Published: September 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, after my first week of work (and Sheena's 2nd) we celebrated individually in the only two ways we know how: I (of course) went with Kevin, Mike, & Rita to North Fremantle Beach for my very first surfing lesson! While Sheena scheduled herself in for her own form of R&R...a new haircut & highlights!
Bright & early on Saturday AM Kevin, June & I loaded into the train to head down to the beach where we'd meet Mike & Rita. Kevin had him and I signed up for some lessons, while Mike & Rita were eager to try out their newly purchased (used) boards (unfortunately, Mike bought a "big wave" board, which may have been a bad idea).
Our lesson starts with us pulling up to this Van where in typical surfer style, there are three dudes collecting money & handing out boards & wetsuits. Kevin and I got sorted out, and while he went off with the 2nd graders (people who had taken a lesson before) I was with the newbies, learning how to paddle in the sand and get up to a surfer-like position.
After 10 mins of teaching we were let loose into the water into the
Lessons!Lessons!Lessons!

Looks easy on Sand...
"white wash," which is the part of the wave after it breaks (the foam). To get onto a wave before it breaks is a lot trickier with your timing and you have to be sharp when you stand up, whereas surfing in the whitewash is a bit more forgiving. Paddling..I got down pretty quick, but the whole standing up thing was a bit of a challenge! After a few nice falls and a few laughs with the rest of the class, I had soon figured out that my low center of gravity (yes, insert height joke here) actually might serve me well! As you can see from the pictures, I definitely passed my first surfing lesson! Can't wait to head back out soon with the boys for lessons 2 & 3, and I'll soon be competing with Kelly Slater for surfing glory.
After surfing Sheena and I took the afternoon easy, as I had signed up for a 12km run as part of Perth's "City to Surf" marathon day on Sunday. Sheena had made plans with a girlfriend Saturday night, so Mike & Rita ended up inviting me over for a fantastic meal of pre-running food (as Mike & I would be running the City to Surf together). After getting home, I was in bed by 9:30 and ready for my 7am wake-up call to be at the start line by 8:30 for the 12km run.
The run was probably one of the more amazing things I could have done that Sunday. Combining the Full Marathon (1000 people) the half marathon (2000 people) and the 12km run/walk (40,000 people!) it was a crowd that I didn't at all expect. Jets flying over head, people in great moods, and family's out with their dogs, kids, and grandparents all doing the 12km walk/run from the city center to City Beach - one of the nicer beaches along the ocean. Mike and I started the race side-by-side, but a hill at the 10km mark slowed me down a bit while Mike powered through - him finishing just over 55 minutes and me about 30 seconds later. It was still a really fun run - although a lot hillier than I expected for a coastal town! Rita and Sheena met us at the finish line with smiles, we checked out some of the tents for a bit, and then packed up and headed back to the city.
Now that its Wednesday, we've had a pretty regular week of work, and are prepping up for the weekend.
Friday evening Sheena and I have been invited to a 30th birthday party of a co-worker of mine, which somehow is all you can eat tapas & all you can drink for 5 hours at a pretty nice place in Mt. Lawley (suburb just 5 mins from the city center), so we'll be looking to put on our Friday best and meet some proper Australians! Just to match Sheena...I may have to get a haircut myself...I've been told I'm getting a bit shaggy! Saturday & Sunday may be low key days, although now that it is September we've been told its whale watching season, so we'll see if we can't get some great photos!
Sheena's over my shoulder already correcting my grammar, so I think that's my cue to sign off...


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Surfers?Surfers?
Surfers?

Mike & Rita ready to hang 10.
Funny Car? Funny Car?
Funny Car?

After I got back from surfing it was some sort of "Perth Novelty Fair" in the CBD, so I had to take a picture of this car. There must have been 50 of them, all looking equally awesome.


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb