School, Skating, repeat - Week 12 and Study Break - May 21-June 3, 2007


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
June 19th 2007
Published: June 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Week 12 of Classes
Alright, week 12, the last week of classes. What did I do? Well, I had 2 big assignments to get done, so you can imagine what I mostly did. Although school here is really a lot easier than back home, so despite being busy, I wasn't stressed. Wednesday was a fun day - we went on a field trip with my water auditing class...to a mine! And we weren't allowed outside due to the danger, so instead we were taken around in a mine company-supplied bus (it was fancy!) I may have fallen asleep somewhere near the tailings dam...

After that field trip, I decided to attend the 'Study Abroad Farewell', thinking I would get to say goodbye to some of the people I'd met who were leaving after one semester. But there were only about 3 people there who I knew! However, I did re-meet someone who I apparently met months ago. Neither of us recognized eachother, but another girl distinctly remembered us meeting. And when we started talking, our stories did sound familiar...so we had met before, it just happened to be in 40 degree heat when we probably looked different, due to the sweat and greasy hair and red faces and all that.

Infusion Camp
The weekend of May 26-27 was my first ever Infusion camp! It was fun, we got to have a sleep-over party in between the two days! We all camped out in this bizarre building that I won't begin to explain. It belongs to the parents of one of the girls on our team. Oh and one fun thing we did was marching! In order to improve our ability to do stuff in lines. It was hilarious, there was this never-ending marching band piece and we had a little routine to do along to it. Other than that, not much to say. Off-ice, on-ice, team bonding, etc...the standard training stuff, just cramped into 2 days of fun!

Study Break
Well I was supposedly on a study "break", but it wasn't much of a rest. I submitted my last 2 assignments and did an informal oral presentation for one of them. Then I began studying for my first exam the following week. From my agenda book, I can see I went grocery shopping that week. What a fun week it was!

Synchro Competition #2 - MEH
Alright the weekend of June 2-3 we had our second competition, MEH. We skated both the short and free programmes, and I have some pictures from the free attached to this blog. We had two good skates, which is always good news. And we of course came first, being the only team again. And I got to go stand atop the podium when we got our trophy! And then I kept the trophy cause no one else wanted it...so it stands on my bookcase, proudly!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Podium pic 2Podium pic 2
Podium pic 2

I got to go up on the top of the podium and accept the trophy - which I then took home with me cause no one wanted it!


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb