The Zoo and a Visitor - Week 10 and 11 of Classes - May 7-16, 2007


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
June 14th 2007
Published: June 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wow, what a stupid, useless doodleWow, what a stupid, useless doodleWow, what a stupid, useless doodle

Clearly this guy needs to be given more work
Alright so now I can tell the story of why I've been so busy for the past...long time...It's not a very exciting story, since it mostly involves "I was sitting at my laptop working on my essay/report." Probably the most exciting day was May 8th, when I went back to the Perth Zoo to meet with the maintenance manager to discuss their sustainability initiatives. This was for my Sustainable Development Project, one of the classes I was taking this semester.

A visitor!
My one and only visitor to date is my Mom, who arrived in Perth on May 11th. I went on quite the mission to go meet her at the airport. If I haven't made this clear yet, perhaps I should say it again:

The Perth public transit system was designed to discourage people from taking public transit.

That's really all that needs to be said. There's a train line to Murdoch that was supposed to be done last November. It's still not open.

Anyways, my Mom and I went and did some fun things around Perth while she was here. We went to King's Park, a famous park just west of the city centre.
Dual flush toilets now have poker optionsDual flush toilets now have poker optionsDual flush toilets now have poker options

Ok this one is kind of funny.
Unfortunately, my digital camera decided to break on that very day, so I have no pictures. I'm going tomorrow to get it fixed. It's quite a pretty park, though! On Mother's Day, May 13th, I had brunch at my Mom's hotel and then we headed to AQWA, the Aquarium of Western Australia. It was really awesome! I have to go back cause you can sign up to go diving in their tank with the SHARKS!! How crazy would that be?

Other than that, my Mom mostly explored on her own as I was quite busy with school and skating and such. However, there was one cool thing we did together - we went to Kuala Lumpur! But that's a much longer story, so I'll save that for the next entry.

Water Audit Pics
I hate to have a blog entry with no pictures, but my broken digital camera has left me with little choice. So I think I'll give you all some insight into the stress that was my water audit with some pictures of the wonderful graffiti the supposed staff at my university left for me. All I can say is, I finished the exam for that
My defender!My defender!My defender!

I shouldn't rag on everyone, there were a lot of friendly and helpful people. Like this kind soul who stood up to an incompetent idiot for me!
class yesterday, and afterwards all I wanted to do was waste heaps of water. Just to spite everyone. I'm so glad it's over...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Too much informationToo much information
Too much information

I don't need to know WHY you flushed the toilet
The drinking class?The drinking class?
The drinking class?

I clearly haven't taken enough sociology classes, cause I didn't realize there was a "drinking class"
Is this a University or a kindergarten classroom?Is this a University or a kindergarten classroom?
Is this a University or a kindergarten classroom?

Do I even need to mention - all but one of these pictures were from the MEN'S toilets


22nd June 2007

haha
lol just love the random doodle and notes left behind :) I feel like im in grade 2 all over again :)
26th August 2007

Yes, I know I'm late in reading this. In my defense I just got off-stream. And how on EARTH have you never heard that drinking class quote before?

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb