Arrived At Last...Took Forever


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » South Lake
December 6th 2005
Published: December 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Fun LanguageFun LanguageFun Language

On the Menu in Singapore
We landed at Singapore on time. Went and had a shower then to the sunflower deck. It was very hot and humid there. After sitting in the heat we decided we needed a beer. Managed to justify the beer at 8.30 am, by saying it is 12.30 am in London and we are thirsty! At 9.00am headed to the gate. Looked at the telly and our gate was closing. Fortunately we didn’t have far to go. Straight through security and on to the plane. We were down the back of the plane. The man sitting next to us moved so we had three seats to ourselves. That was very good news because my in-flight entertainment unit didn’t work properly. The plane took off. After a while I congratulated and welcomed Richie to the Southern Hemisphere. Settled back and watched Valiant. Sleep hit. I was woken up by the hostess with lunch. I was very disorientated and it took me a couple of seconds to work out were I was. Lunch was Ham and Pasta Salad; Pan Fried fish in Caper Veloute Sauve with Roasted Vegetables and Potatoes; Bread Roll and Butter. Also had Magnum Ice-cream. Started to watch Valiant again
Waiting For Mum at AirportWaiting For Mum at AirportWaiting For Mum at Airport

Sitting Outside Perth Airport
from the last point I could remember. Sleep. It was worse than Paul McKenna sitting next to you after hypnotising you. Richie woke me up and pointed out the window. We had the rough, raw redness that is the country of Australia out the window. Sleep! I was woken as the pressure started to affect my ears. Came in over Midland as usual and landed five minutes late. Couldn’t ring Mum to let her know we’d landed. No phones until cleared customs. Did some shopping for alcohol for mum…Jim Beam; Baileys; Kaluha and Tia Maria. Richie got through immigration and customs before me. I had to see Australian Quarantine because of the cat. Cute wooden one, not cute fluffy one! Joined Richie outside and he’d rang my mum and she was on her way. Richie tried to get some flowers for mum but the airport doesn’t do them. He was told by the girl in the shop, he’d have to stick his tongue further down her throat!! Mum arrived in her posh newish car. We drove to the new house. It is fantastic. Dropped the bags off, gave Mum her gifts and headed to Peter’s my brother. It was good to meet up with everyone. Mum and Cindy (Peter’s wife) went to KFC and Red Rooster. Had the obligatory Red Rooster dinner I always have on arrival in Australia. After a few drinks and talking I started to nod off in mid sentence! Came home and went straight to bed at 8.30pm Sleep immediately.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb