Perth


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Joondalup
January 31st 2015
Published: February 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Good morning, yesterday myself, Stu, Mike, Dorothy and Chris went to a place called Fremantle which I suppose was about a 50 minute drive away. We were armed with plenty of sunscreen on, I put 50 on and Dorothy gave us some salts to drink. It got to 36 degrees yesterday during the day and it did have a slight breeze, not like the previous day. We really liked Fremantle, it was buzzy, loads of outside cafes and restaurants and bars and street entertainers. They had a nice market which sold food as well as leather goods and jewellery and other bits and pieces. I could have had a field day there, but we're on a budget !! We had lunch there before moving onto what they called the round house which was a small prison used in the 1800's, I read in there that Ireland, England, Texas, Sinapore and Kuala Lumpur fit into Western Australia (where we are) and there is still room left over. Dorothy said to make it simple England fits into WA 20 times. It is just un-believable how big this place is. Stu and I then went onto 'The Ship wreck museum' which was really interesting, plenty of ships have been in trouble on this side of Aussie.

From there we drove to a beautiful beach called Cottesloe, seemed a busy beach with plenty of life guards around speaking to people who were in the water and that wasn't many, so whether there had been shark sightings or the current was strong we didn't really know. One thing for sure, you wouldn't catch me and Stu in there, I dipped my toe in and that was as far as I was going !!!

Back into the lovely air conditioned car ( I love that car !!) and drove to another beach called Mullaloo, I couldn't make my mind up if that was better than the last one. Beautiful sand and the ocean looked inviting, but me and Stu are playing safe, no shark bites for us !!!!

I really like Perth, I love the city especially. I am surprised how much I do like it, it does have a lot of English here as it appears this is where they all come because of the work. The beaches are out of this world, however you would need a car to get around, unlike Melbourne which has the tram system in and out of the city.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb