Day 3


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

While I write this it has just started hailing !!, I reckon I must have caught a piece of string attached to the storm clouds in Lake Clifton and I am dragging it across the South Coast.

Having a mud slide go through the camper last night at 2am was interesting to say the least, my first thought was that the trailer would be pulled over, but the Tardis held fast, only ended up with about a foot of mud inside the tent. As it was raining when I knocked down camp this morning and still raining now I am suffering the remains of the sticky mud inside the tent till it dries out a tad.

From Ravensthorpe I headed south via Esperance, the trekked north to Norseman, nearly running out of fuel 300kms out of Esperance as my planned fuel stop at Green Patch had closed down. I eased the little Suzi along to Salmon Gums, where it took 39.2 litres to fill the 40 Litre tank ... and here I took on board 20 litres of spare fuel !! in a can. The first 2500km the little 4WD has averaged 8.2 Ltrs per 100 kms which considering I am towing 550kgs into strong winds is very impressive.

Norseman was to be my over night but with the early start I arrived well before lunch, so turned right to head out on to the famous Nulabor Plain .... planning to stay at Baladonia ( where I stayed on the clockwise trip), however after taking on more fuel decided to take on the 90 mile ( 147km) straight ... longest in the world, before camping for the night. So here I am, once again in the middle of absolutely nowhere, parked about 2kms of the main road, still raining, going dark at 4.50pm but I have a great glass of Cape Bouvard Chardy in hand.

Tomorrow I will cross the WA / SA border for a quick glimpse at South Australia .. The adventure will continue ....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb