Having a hisssssy fit...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Kununurra
November 7th 2007
Published: November 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sting in the TailSting in the TailSting in the Tail

The 2m python that scared me half to death!
Up even earlier today (5.50am) to be in time for a slightly more hectic breakfast than what we'd been used to with Jim. Makes sense to be up quickly to make the most of the day but we were almost treading on eggshells with Ian to make sure we packed everything away properly! My tentmate Chelley had lent me her earplugs for her slight snoring problem(!) - I woke up only being able to find one of the earplugs so was joking that it had got lodged in my brain somehow... until I found it under the pillow. After a thorough power shower (i.e. dunking self under water via a big saucepan!), we set off for another bumpy two hour ride out of Mabel Downs. Note to self - don't drink a big cup of tea before a four-wheel drive - had to leg it to the loos when we reached the Turkey Creek resthouse!

Our group had a bit of a debate about whether to go straight to Kununurra to set up camp early, have a dip in the pool, use the internet and stock up at the bottle shop OR to head to Wyndham for the afternoon and get back to 'Kimberleyland' campsite in the evening. Most of us voted for the camp as Wyndham would be 50km out of our way, we needed a bit of a rest day after an energetic few days and we could travel via Wyndham the next morning. The only real protestor was Arthur, an older English bloke who is very vocal with his opinions (the running joke is that everyone knows he runs 10km a day don't you know!) - but majority ruled and we set off for Kununurra. (You'll see why this debate had significance in due time!)

Was great to set up our tents without the use of torches(!) and fill the washing machine to the brim before swimming a few lengths in the little pool until the sun went down. I could smell that the beef stir fry was nearly ready so I went off to the bathroom to wash up, torch in hand. On the short walk back to the tents I was just thinking 'I wonder if there could be snakes in this long grass?' when I saw the BIGGEST snake right in front of me in the path, looking at me! Must have been around two metres long. I was on my own and called out 'Snake... snake... anyone?!' The others were busy getting dinner ready so ignored my cries for help! Thankfully one of the girls, Maaike (pronounced Myka) came up behind me and we kept an eye on the snake which had slithered into the grass a little bit further away.

A guy who was either a nutter or an official snake spotter eventually heeded our calls and came over - only to disappear again after saying 'Ooh, could be a King Brown that one' - King Brown being one of the most dangerous snakes in the world! ('Top five' Arthur told me!) He called the snake authorities - whoever they are - and assured us it was 'Only a python'. ONLY a python! I was traumatised after this event (needing a beer with dinner to recover) and didn't turn my torch off until we were safe in the tents! Had a great shower - couldn't believe how much I enjoyed it after two days of nothing but a hose or saucepan - and chatted with Ian, Dirk, Chell and Steffi and a big chat with Mum before going to bed in a much cooler tent than previous nights. What a night!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb