And We're Off....Finally! Oh but wait...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Fremantle
January 16th 2007
Published: January 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Taking the JumpTaking the JumpTaking the Jump

Steve cliff jumping
7 months after arriving in Perth I'm finally off to see new places. It's been one of the most memorable stays in one place for so long. I can't thank the people I've met here enough, especially the staff here at The Old Fire Station Backpackers. It seriously is sad to be leaving this place as for me now I consider my home away from home.

Rich, Lynn, Gavin & I are leaving this Friday for a road trip to Melbourne, which will probably take us a few weeks to get to. We'll most likely stop along the way for some work doing harvesting of sorts. It's exciting to be on the road again soon. My backpacking trip came to a halt here, but I'm happy it did. I may be coming back at some point, as I don't think I can leave Australia without seeing some friends for one last time. Melbourne I'm sure will be amazing, but the big city kinda freaks me out a little as I'm accustomed to small quiet places now. We'll see what happens.

This months will be a big transition period here at the hostel as many of us longtermers are leaving, and oddly enough we're all heading to the same place, Melbourne... hmm maybe a reunion is in the books?

We had a big farewell party this weekend for all the "departing" backpackers. And once again was a theme night. We opted for the Animation theme... and Kim this one's for you.. decided to dress up as Uran (Astro Girl; Astro Boy's little sister, which Alex dressed up as Astro Boy) I somehow managed to win the prize which was a ticket to Rottnest Island & a voucher at one of our fav Irish pubs here. Can't complain.

**Few days later: New updates***

Well with our "luck" a couple of hours before leaving on this roadtrip, Rich went into town to get the car serviced... I'm sitting in the courtyard here at the hostel saying farewell to some people and feeling pretty sad to be leaving. All of a sudden Rich puts out an announcement on the intercom: "Steph, we're not leaving.." Much to my shock and disbelief I walk towards the office and see Rich coming out, but with his very ticked off look. So it is true, we aren't leaving after all this? WHY? Well as he pulling a legal U-turn, some lady smashed right into him and now the car is a write-off because the frame is bent. Thank goodness Rich is alright though. So yeah, the roadtrip has been temporarily cancelled or shall I just say delayed.. again. My bags have been unpacked, I've checked back in and looking for work.

I still really need to go somewhere for a while, a change of scenery. It'll do me some good. Sometimes you put yourself in situations where the need for a move is almost the best thing one can do for themselves. I've decided to head to Margaret River for some work as there is a big demand for workers over there and accomodation is paid for. Then when Rich is ready or I have enough money, we'll complete our roadtrip to Melbourne.

I guess there's not much more to say at this time as Rich & I are still in disbelief. Everything happens for a reason right? I mean, I guess it just wasn't our time to go. On the bright side of things, I'm kinda happy we got stranded here, in a place we love as opposed to somewhere that would never compare.



Advertisement



1st February 2007

Hola Steph!!!
Hola :) Long time... I was suprise that I didn't have any news from you, so decided to enter your blog, ant there it was your lastest knews.. Hope you finally make it to go for a road trip... As for me, I'm in buenos aires, working, missing the road... But is nice to here friends that stillon the road, as if some of me are with them travelling... Hope you have the best time. Love Maria

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb