NW Trip Day 4 - Travel to Coral Bay - April 7, 2007


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Coral Bay
April 24th 2007
Published: April 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was mostly a travel day. We made a stop in the booming metropolis of Carnarvon! We were told it was one of the biggest cities in the area, and that we would be spending about an hour in a SHOPPING MALL. I immediately knew what to expect - “they’ll have a Woolworth’s and a Target,” I declared and wouldn’t you know it, I was BANG ON!! They also had a Woolworth’s liquor and the Target was a special kind of Target - a Target COUNTRY. I didn’t go inside, so I’m not quite sure what the difference is.

We arrived at our final destination of a sheep shearing station in the late afternoon. We were greeted with instant luxury - ROOMS with ELECTRICITY!! At this point in my story I should mention that we had air mattresses for our tents, and that my tentmate picked bag number 6 for our tent. She also chose room number 6 at this sheep station. This will be important later…

Anyways, after unloading our stuff we popped back into the buck and headed just a few minutes down a dirt road to the beach. It was gorgeous and very secluded; other than the sheep station there were a few rented cabins in the area but that was it. So we all had a nice swim. The water was very cold though, so Kim decided he wanted to head back. But several people wanted to stay to watch the sunset. I was feeling cold, so I headed back with Kim and a couple of other girls while Greg stayed with the rest of the group. Upon our return to the station, we were joined by a few horses who came right up to our doors. Kim said they often came by, and the two other girls were horrified by how skinny they were.

The sunset wasn’t too eventful since it was completely cloudless, but I got to enjoy it go down over the sheep station. The others were picked up shortly after and we had another delicious dinner. We had another campfire that evening.

In the middle of the night I was in a deep, deep sleep when I was awoken by Athena calling my name. “Look, there’s a kangaroo at our door!” she exclaimed. Now this would be cool if it had happened when the horses had come. But in order to discover this fact, I had to be pulled out of the deepest part of my sleep. I was actually in a dream, and I felt like I got sucked out of the dream, then out of sleep, only to find myself in a dark cabin. I sat up in bed, saw the kangaroo, and said drowsily “I’m too tired to care.” I fell back to sleep immediately.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The excitement of Carnarvon is etched in our expressionsThe excitement of Carnarvon is etched in our expressions
The excitement of Carnarvon is etched in our expressions

L to R: Luke, John, Kristen, Athena, Jessica, Jason, Lyndsey, Lindsey, Henriikka, and Lauren Front: Rachel
Hungry horses show up at our doorHungry horses show up at our door
Hungry horses show up at our door

Lauren and Lyndsey named them Paris and Nicole


Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb