My search for gold in inland Victoria...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
March 14th 2006
Published: March 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My week of travelling inland Victoria showed me some very cute places. I got the V-line train to Ballarat. (I now hate V-line, can't deal with all these rubbish timetables!) At the station whilst waiting for my bus to the hostel I was speaking to this guy who said he was getting the same bus as me, number 9. He then walked away and came back about 10 minutes later. He was sitting behind the bus shelter and I could hear him speaking to someone, it wasn't until I turned around that I realised there was no one there. He was speaking so fast and as if there were about 3 people inside his head, or he thought were sitting with him. He would burst out laughing one minute then get all serious the next. It was something really interesting to see as I'd never experienced that before. In Ballarat I stayed at Sovereign Hill which is a living and working museum. It's a town exactly how it was in the 1800's. Ballarat is where the first gold rush was so I did some panning for gold there...so much fun! I actually found a fair bit, and by a fair bit I mean quite a few specks which I have put in a little bottle.haha 😊 They had old fashioned bakeries and sweet shops, with demonstrations of how they made things years ago. Actors paraded the streets acting out and speaking in ye olden times. It was such a sweet little place, just like the hostel there, which was just like a little house with four rooms, kitchen and two bathrooms. Ooo I also went down into a mine where the tour was guided by voices and lights...i was the only one down there so when all the lights went off (which I now know was part of the tour) it was pretty scary considering how far down under the ground I was!

My little Victoria travels also included Halls Gap which is in the Grampians National Park. In January there was a serious bush fire that has ruined so much of the area. It was really interesting seeing the trees in such a burnt state with ash all over the ground. Some of the trees already had new branches growing, the colour contrast of black and green on the trunks looked really nice. The hostel I stayed at was an eco-hostel, recycling everything, using the water from showers for flushing the toilet (you weren't allowed to shave in the showers) and they had solar panels on the roof. I watched A Beautiful Mind for the first time here, it was quite ironic after watching it considering the man who I had met at Ballarat Station! Ah, I can't believe how nice the Grampians YHA hostel was. It's the cleanest, most modern, beautiful, amazing hostel I have been to, and only $24 a night! They had a little 'Chicken Hilton' and every morning had a basket in the immaculate kitchen with fresh eggs in it to use for free, as well as lots of different herbs from the garden. I of course made use of the eggs straight away...mmm they were so good, you can really taste the difference compared to store bought eggs...

Advertisement



14th March 2006

?
2 Travel blogs in 1 week, AMAZING!! Its gonna be a short reply as im very ill at moment and im laid up in bed, Helen is coming down with it too Love you loads sis, and remember , Charlie says...you must not talk to strangers...espicially mad crazy ones!! mmmmwaaahhh pib
14th March 2006

favourite food!
I bet you were in heaven when you saw the basket of eggs, and especially the word free! Shame about that guy, but lets hope his the only weird guy you meet up with.........please!!!! Are you meeting up with the Queen while she has gone all that way to be near you??
14th March 2006

MAN AT BUS SHELTER
SUPERWOMAN, PEOPLE WHO GO ROUND TALKING TO THEMSELVES, LAUGH ONE MINUTE THEN SERIOUS THE NEXT ARE CALLED RAVING LUNATICS.THEY ARE MORE NUTTY THAN KP (YOUR OLD TOY FRIEND).PLEASE LEAVE WELL ALONE.EITHER THAT OR THEY ARE DOPED UP WITH DRUGS.THATS MY LITTLE LECTURE OVER ! I HOPE YOU HAVE A LOVELY BIRTHDAY WHEN IT COMES ROUND ,TAKE CARE, COCO POPS.
14th March 2006

4 more sleeps to go!!!
4 more sleeps until we leave to see you - how excited are we!!!!!!!!!!!!! Victoria sounds beautiful, but be careful of dodgy blokes at bus stations! You are so trusting lucy, only you would be nice and talk to the only wierdo in a 2 mile radius! Zak and Madison are missing you and send big hugs. Madsion said to tell you she can whistle now - how exciting is that eh! love you. See you in 6 L M Z M xxxx
15th March 2006

Wow Free Eggs
What an amazing time your having, and (free Eggs what a wonderful way for you to start the day your so funny lucy) Please could you STAY AWAY from dodgey blokes who speak to 3 different people in their heads at one time, that is not the norm even in Australia so please steer clear and keep to your free range egg and fruit tasting that sounds nice and safe. Look forward to your next Journal Love debxxx

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb