The festival season, oh how I love it so...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
March 17th 2006
Published: March 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Federation Square, Opening CeremonyFederation Square, Opening CeremonyFederation Square, Opening Ceremony

Tried to do a bit of a 'Where's Wally?' in this picture, see if you can find myself and Danny amongst the crowd...
*Note* - I will add some photos for you all when I meet up with my big bro and use his lovely laptop in a few days 😊

Labour Day, 13th March...Katie, Danny, Sarah and I went to Earthcore in the park. There was such a mixture of people, with plenty of illuminous ravers some sporting the latest bunny rabbit outfits...oh I love the diversity at festivals and the fact that no one cares, makes me smile 😊 Anyway, first on was Schpongle who I now absolutely love. His Dj set was full of cultural influence, kept going by a steady beat for everyone to dance away to. I thought he was going to be really young but he looked about 60! Throughout the sunny day Danny and I wandered about the different stages that were situated on hills in cute little teepee tents. The day finished after dark with Infected Mushroom. There were so many people watching and going mental to the sheer intensity of their live set. Amazing...

I moved to the city of Melbourne after Earthcore 😊 I truly love this city. The atmosphere with the commonwealth games being on is buzzing. It's quite difficult sometimes
Hardcore Drum and Bass stage at Earthcore...Hardcore Drum and Bass stage at Earthcore...Hardcore Drum and Bass stage at Earthcore...

These tent stages we either side of the main stage, up on hills with the city in the background. Was strange to think all this craziness was happening behind bars just next to the city...
to walk down the street though...
I watched the opening ceremony at Federation Square. There were heaps of people, some with blankets and food and drinks. It felt so good to actually be there for the start of the games. The ceremony was shown on a big screen and it was so lovely to be told what country people around me were from by when they cheered. England however didn't get many cheers, although there were some guys at the very front who had a massive St.Georges flag reading 'Essex Boys on Tour'...made me realise where I'm from... The moment Australia came on though was loud, just like when everyone rose to sing the Australian National anthem. It was strange seeing the fireworks above and behind me, shooting off of all the tall buildings, and then seeing an aerial view of it as well on the big screen. Really gave me a pinch of realisation as to where I was, that I am actually in Melbourne for this occassion and not viewing it through a box back home.

As well as the games going on, there is also Festival Melbourne, which has free events of dance, drama, music and art going on around the city. The other night I went to see Jimmy Cliff at the Sidney Myer Music Bowl. He was sooooo good! I recognised so many of the songs but didn't realise he sang them. Me, danny and this guy called Ross from Korea who's in my dorm were dancing away just like the rest of the massive crowd. Everyone walked away with an air of happiness, I love that about concerts, especially open air ones...

Tonight was my last night in Melbourne, I went to watch Talvin Singh (so good) with my dearest Katie and dearest Danny. I'm going to miss meeting up and being with them so so much. I have had the best time here in Melbourne with them. It seems so strange that I won't see Katie for I don't know how long...I will miss her...I didn't want to say goodbye but of course we had to and shared a beautiful hug (hugs are the best) I will of course see Danny boy though when I go to New Zealand! Where I will stay at his house and have his ensuite bedroom all to myself! ahahaha 😊

Goodbye to all that has been, my own personal Melbourne...

Advertisement



18th March 2006

Team GB
It looked great on tv, must have been amazing however closing ceromnys are supposed to be even better. Hope you are missing us all still! ha , like as if! Look forward to the photos sis...joshua really enjoys them...speak soon, lov u mmmmmwahhh pib
18th March 2006

its spelt shpongle!... knew u would like it if u give it a chance. it'll b good to go racving withs ya wwen u get back!
18th March 2006

A memory to keep.
Fantastic, what an event to be able to be a part of, a memory to live on with you forever. Just waved bye to your bro and sis in law, they are on the way to meet you!!!!!!!!!have fun, love mum xxx
20th March 2006

cooooooooool
COOL!!! errr........thats all i have to say really.....being honest, know where is as good as woodham. thats where we all are!!!! xxxxxxxxxxxxx come home!! or make 6 months go really quick xxxxxxxxx
20th March 2006

SUPERWOMAN
HI LUCY ,I KNEW YOU WOULD LIKE JIMMY CLIFF (REGGAE STILL LIVES AND BREATHES)
22nd March 2006

Spotted you !
Great pictures, I think I have spotted you both !! Glad you are having fun with bro and sis in law, love to you all mum xxx
22nd March 2006

sounds like you are having a jolly good time.Did you go to Ramsey Street to say hi to them for me as I tune in to them every night without fail. Do you think Tess would like it over there? Are you still Asking for doubles? Have fun Love.......
22nd March 2006

Oh Lucy Lu, that sounds amazing. I love festivals, can't wait for them to kick in over here. Me and O got some for V to see Radiohead, can't wait. Will you be back for August? I should imagen you will be. You should get tickets, it's gonna be amazing. Those tents in your pictures look like somthing out of Glastonbury, I love the different people. Amazing. I can't wait for the Summer to start, it's still like Janurary at the moment. How hot is it over there? I saw you've got a bit of a tan. Anyway, nice to here you're still alive!! Hope to hear from you again soon. Love you, you're Girlfriend. xxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb