Melbs


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
October 22nd 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I always liked Victoria, but now I know I love Victoria. Don't go slitting your wrists girls, I am talking about the great Australian state of Victoria. This is the 1st and only time on my trip that I have visited somewhere I have been before, and I am glad I am here. Not only it is great to see my old pals Shane and Lisa, but also I am able to see a lot more of Melbourne and Victoria than I did last time.

So, where I went:
-to the horse races and sneaked into a VIP area we really shouldn't have been in,
-to the Serento area, which is like Sandbanks (Bournemouth alumni would agree),
-wine tasting and only drank Pinot in homage to Sideways,
-to the Grampians national park, which is like the lake district but with Kangaroos and Cockatoos,
-to the Great Ocean Road, which is like parts of the cornish coast but with pies rather than pasties,
-to the Otways national park, which is like Jurassic Park but with Koalas rather than Dinosaurs,
-to the city and cycled round it.

What I did:
-Hiked,
-Walked,
-Cycled,
-Drove,
-Swam,
-BBQ'ed,
-Learnt to write haiku's.

What I saw:
-Kangaroos boxing,
-Koalas
GrampiansGrampiansGrampians

One of the many amazing lookouts in the Grampians
roaring,
-Gala, Cockatoos and other exotic birds,
-Lots of waterfalls,
-Amazing beaches and coastline,
-Vineyards,
-Horses running in circles (and apparently the best weight for race horse in the world),
-Drunken feral Aussies,
-A cat get run over.

Victoria is a truly great place. There is everything you could want, stunning scenery of all types, great beaches, cool bars, friendly people, and of course plenty of bbqs. The only thing they need to work on is having a bit more reliable sunshine. And that is why I love Victoria.

Big thanks to Shane and Lisa for there great hospitality, hope you have a great time in the UK.

Here's a link to the pictures.

Next port of call is Christchurch NZ to look for a car to take me round/be my home for the next couple of months


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb