Australian Journey 1987


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
May 4th 1987
Published: August 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Melbourne - Tippabourogh


SilvertonSilvertonSilverton

This pub has been used in many Australian movies.
4 May, Monday:
After a late night packing the gear I left this morning about 7:45. On the trip up through central Victoria I used the full tank and two of the three spare cans of fuel. This will give me a range around 780 kilometres, which is well within my longest distance between service stations.
It was a long days driving to the border town of Wentworth, which was reached around 5:00 that evening. Did 356 kilometres today was advised by the police at Wentworth not to take the Menindee Road due to recent rains. I booked into a caravan park called Willow Bend, which rests on the banks of the Darling River. Car went well but the weather is overcast.


5 May, Tuesday:
The Silver City Highway is great. At Broken Hill I stayed overnight at a caravan park. I don’t think I’ll have the same trouble with possums as I did last night. Went to Silverton, which is a few kilometres northwest of Broken Hill, it’s a great little ghost town. Car running well, weather warm.


6 May, Wednesday:
Before I left Broken Hill this morning I had to fix my bonnet catch; it
MilparinkaMilparinkaMilparinka

The old court house. One of the few remaining buildings in town.
was wedged shut. The road north ranged from good dirt, bad corrugations and a 10-kilometre stretch of sealed road that was in the middle of nowhere. I later found out it was an experimental road surface laid to find out how it would handle the floods. Some parts did, other parts were breaking up.
Had a few beers at Milparinka before driving out to Depot Glen. Lost my exhaust and returned to Milparinka. Travelled the last 44 kilometres to Tibooburra without the exhaust.
Stayed at a campsite on the outskirts of town. Travelled 362 kilometres today.





7 May, Thursday:
Did one trip to see old gold diggings then went back into town and spent the rest of the day making alterations to the exhaust system at a local garage. The mechanic took the middle muffler out and put a pipe straight through to the back section. Got plenty of clearance now but it’s a lot noisier. If it gets me through the rough sections I will put up with it.
That evening had a drink at both of the local pubs. Went back to my camp just as it started to rain.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Silver City HighwaySilver City Highway
Silver City Highway

In name only! It was rough in parts and sections were even sealed.


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb