Australian Journey 1987


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
May 7th 1987
Published: August 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Tibooburra - Innamincka


Track to Camerons CornerTrack to Camerons CornerTrack to Camerons Corner

The road crossed numerous clay capped sand dunes.
8 May, Friday:
This morning I left town early. Stopped at Fort Grey (campsite) where I met a couple of blokes driving an old Holden Ute. I was amazed it had travelled this far into the bush.
Drove onto Cameron’s Corner, which is where the borders of South Australia, New South Wales and Queensland meet. It was quiet an achievement just to reach this area because the vast range of speeds I experienced can only describe the condition of track, which was between 20-70 kph. The corrugations shook hell out of the car and I lost the exhaust at least four times during the trip, the last time I just had to wire it up. I was under the car doing the repairs when I noticed a Dingo checking me out, he made me a little nervous but we both kept our distance and there was no trouble.
I turned onto the old Strezelicki track and discovered it very rough. There were parts that had deep sand drifts across the road, which I enjoyed driving through. As it got later in the afternoon I started to worry that I would not make it. The last 45 kilometres were the worst, much
Track to Camerons CornerTrack to Camerons CornerTrack to Camerons Corner

Another view of the track.
of that was driven in the dark. When I arrived my hands were shaking with pins and needles from holding the wheel so tight.
Spent most of the evening playing pool in the Innamincka Pub with two guys from a communications company and later another two blokes joined us. They are here to grade the tracks in the area, starting with the old Strezlecki Track tomorrow. It’s been twelve months since it had last seen a grader. Glad I made it.
Stayed at the Innamincka Pub over night ($21) Drove about 361 kilometres today.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Camerons CornerCamerons Corner
Camerons Corner

Where three states meet. I'm actually sitting on the post that marks the spot.
Rabbit Proof FenceRabbit Proof Fence
Rabbit Proof Fence

Although its called the Rabbit Proof Fence it also keeps the dingos from moving into cattle and sheep country
Strazlakie TrackStrazlakie Track
Strazlakie Track

Over the years I have tended to photograph myself beside more then a few sign posts
Outback SignOutback Sign
Outback Sign

Another one of those shots.


Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 89; dbt: 0.0947s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb