Alansford 2003


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
March 16th 2003
Published: March 16th 2003
Edit Blog Post

16 March 2003
This morning I awoke at six and got ready for another early morning “shoot” this time in Gembrook, which is in the Dandenong Ranges, found east of Melbourne. It was a scout presentation day. There were a lot of hand shaking and photographs taken during this morning session. I was there until 1pm. When I left Gembrook my journey to western Victoria started. I had a two-day “shoot” in Allansford, which is about twelve kilometres out of Warrnambool. I’m staying at a four star motel, for the bargain price of $85 a night. A two bedroom unit overlooking the township and in the distance I could see a “slither” of the sea. One TV in the lounge and another in the bedroom, but no room service. I took a few minute drive into town and found myself a Bistro. Getting there at six in the evening I managed to miss the crowds and sat down alone to eat.

17 March 2003
Starting time was one in the afternoon. Most of the centres where I photograph start in the morning and finish about mid-day. I still awoke at 7am and spent the morning “killing” time. Allansford is not far from where I was staying and it didn’t take long to arrive in town. There was still plenty of time before I needed to set up my equipment and decided to have a look around town. It was on the banks of the local river where I took some images, before going to the centre. It took a bit of searching. The address I was given didn’t match up with the actual location. After setting my gear up the girls who were running the centre invited me to have some lunch with them. When we finished eighteen children filtered into the room and then in turn in front of my camera for portraits. Later I followed the children around the room taking activity “shots”. During the afternoon outside shots were also taken. Three in the afternoon finished me. I took the back road to Warrnambool and ended up at a beach where whales can be seen. I had no luck, being it was the wrong time of the year. Next I drove to the mouth of the Hopkins River. This was a return visit and I got some more good “shots” for my stock library. By five this evening I had returned to my motel and watched a fair bit of TV then back to same Bistro for an evening meal.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0153s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb