Bendigo 2003


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
March 2nd 2003
Published: March 2nd 2003
Edit Blog Post

2 March 2003
I left Portland at ten in the morning, turned my car to the northeast and headed along the Henty Highway, passing Heywood along the way. The countryside was mainly used for farming; sometimes rolling hills could be viewed. At Hamilton, the road becomes the Glenelg Highway that ends at Ballarat. I was to branch north at a small town called Glenthompson. It was along this stretch of road I got a good view of the southern Grampians. The peaks of Mt Sturgeon and Mt Abrupt took my interest and some “shots” were taken of them. At Ararat I followed the Pyrenees Highway. Most of the days driving were over new territory, which gave me the opportunity to use my red texta on the map, showing where I had travelled since working with Classic. My next stop was at a small village called Amphitheatre, where I photographed a small one-room ruin. The towns of Avoca and Maryborough were passed before reaching Bendigo.

3 March 2003
I had worked in today’s centre a couple of years ago and remember it was busy. Four rooms with children ranging in ages from one to four. Only four babies this morning, which didn’t take long. The other rooms kept me busy until mid-day. I had three days in Bendigo and I knew the other days would be the same. In past visits to this large gold mining town I had visited most of the sights and didn’t think my afternoons would be taken up with anything other then watching TV.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 92; dbt: 0.0907s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb