Around Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
November 19th 2011
Published: November 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 66, 16/11/11
Felt very ill today. Had a bad headache, a blocked up nose, aching all over body and could feel a sore throat on the way - which did arrive later in the day.
Took a few tablets and went to the Immigration Museum which was quite interesting. Its only been just over 20 years (1990) since you could get to Australia from England in 24 hours with one stop, before that it would take you 3 and a half days with multiple stops. At one point it took you 70 days by sailing boat and many people died from diseases. The museum had the first and second class cabins for you to take a walk through and theres no surprise people fell ill!
I am still giving out my CV as I am doubting the work at Hunky Dory's as I have not heard from him and I had an interview with a lady on a market catering stall at 4pm. She told me on the phone if I couldn't find the stall to give her a ring...this was exactly the case so I rung her and she was very rude on the phone. She said "I have already told you where we are and what the name is, I cannot stay on the phone - I'm busy" and with that I took one more walk to find the place but couldn't so left. I didn't fancy working with someone who was rude to me before I even met her.
It was Poker Night in the bar so a couple of the guys played that, I had a relaxing evening and went to bed hopefully to wake up better in the morning.

Day 67, 17/11/11
Today I was awake before they stop the free breakfast at half 9 so had some of that. Got a daily Tram ticket and went to Brunswick Street, The Docklands (the waterfront) and St. Kilda with my CV's in handand managed to hand out a few. Didn't get as many out as I did in the city.
In St. Kilda we met up with Stuart's two local friends again, Emily and Tina and had a really good laugh. I don't think I have laughed as much since I have been in Australia until today. Tina went up to a random woman and asked her if she could smell toast - this creased me up and I was crying with laughter.
We played Monopoly again in the evening with the good old OzIntro group.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb