Leaving Australia to the USA


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
August 13th 2007
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Melbourne - New York

13/08/2007

MelbourneMelbourneMelbourne

My Backpack, ready to go.
On the 13th of August 2007, I woke up to my alarm at 4AM, packed and ready for my first overseas trip to the United States of America. I'd been running around like crazy the last few days trying to get everything ready to go. I was up very late the night before trying to pack all the stuff I had planned to take in my backpack but had to cut quite a lot of clothes out because I just couldn't fit them in. It took me a while to get out of bed but I was so excited of what I was about to do I jumped out and had some breakfast, then double checked I had everything I needed and was ready to go. Took one last look at my house then got in the car and my parents took me to the airport for my 8:15AM flight to Sydney.

I arrived at the airport very early, more than 2 hours before my departure to Sydney, we got there early because we were unsure if I needed to be there at least a few hours before departure because it was a connecting international flight. But after checking in,
MelbourneMelbourneMelbourne

My Alarm goes off - 4AM
I realised that for now, it was just a domestic flight to Sydney. So my parents and I went to get some breakfast in a cafe nearby and waited for boarding. By this time I was getting very nervous, but also so excited, I could not believe I was finally going overseas. Eventually, after a long wait, it was time for boarding. Said goodbye to my parents and got on the plane to Sydney. When I arrived in Sydney after a short 1:15 hour flight, I had to find out how to get to the international terminal which was much easier than I thought to get to. I went into the waiting lounge and caught the bus to the international terminal. I was very short on time so I was rushing around a bit making sure that I caught my flight to Los Angeles. After going through customs I ran to my gate and only just made the flight.

After a long 13 hour flight across the pacific I arrived in Los Angeles (LAX), gained access to the USA with the Visa Waiver Program and headed to the baggage collection. Again I was very short for time to catch
FlightFlightFlight

Arriving in America
my next flight to New York (JFK) but I waited and waited..... and waited for my backpack but it never came. I was the only person standing there waiting for luggage and after speaking to someone found out that they were sending it on the same flight, but tomorrow. I was so pissed off and worried like crazy, my first overseas trip, all by myself and my luggage has gone missing. The staff were quite useless in LAX they just told me to figure it out when I get to New York. So I called my parents and messaged Amy the news, went through security and boarded my next flight to New York.

I decided that I was going to meet Amy once I got into New York City so she could show me around and we could catch up on old times. I arrived in New York and went to the Qantas/British Airways desk and sorted out my luggage problem. They would deliver it tomorrow when it arrived here. I caught the shuttle bus to my Hostel (Hostel International) located on the corner of West 104 and Amsterdam. I arrived at the hostel and checked in, I met
FlightFlightFlight

12 Hours and counting.
Amy while I was waiting to check in, it was good to see a familiar face. I was so tried because I don't sleep very well on planes, had hardly any sleep but was way too excited to stay in and go to bed. So with only my daypack with me we headed out for dinner. We took the subway where I bought a 7 day ticket (Which I lost shortly after) and headed to Times Square. I was stunned, it was crazy, so many people everywhere and signs and buildings that seem familiar all lit up, it was amazing. Amy showed me around a little, had a look at Toys'R'Us and the M&M's store then went to get some food at an Italian place. This was my first real purchase in USD and had to remind myself to add the tax onto what I buy. I got spaghetti bolognese and some garlic bread, it was quite good, my first meal in America. We had a walk around the area as I got my first taste of New York, then Amy returned to her Hostel and I walked back to mine, and went to sleep.

Accommodation:
Hostel International New York

Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0756s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb