Scarves and sun


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
September 18th 2007
Published: September 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Down by the stationDown by the stationDown by the station

Before wandering off track - when people were still around
Melbourne was cold yesterday - everyone is walking round in scarves and winter jackets - a bit excessive for me but by 7.00, when it was dark (thought Australia had more day light), it was scarves weather, thin one, but still.

Was a lovely day though. Got lost round Victoria Harbour which isn't much fun, and is very desolate, with building work going on everywhere, but the City Tram saved me and took me up Flinders Street back to civilisation. Thanks City Tram.
Thought I had woken up early due to jet lag or something, watch said 6.00 - everyone had gone to work already and I started to think there was no way I am ever living in this city if I have to leave the house before 6.00. Anyway, after pottering about for a bit decided I should get out, watch check - still 6.00 - thanks mum for the watch with no battery left. People here don't start work before sunrise - thank god.

Apart from getting lost had a lovely day. Sat by the river and read my little Andy guide book, went for coffee bit later after my Californian roll and thought I 'd
Melbourne skylineMelbourne skylineMelbourne skyline

Some real buildings, lovely at night
write a few things down, had lost book. That took one day. Panicked, retraced steps and found I had left it on the grass by the rowing club! So have it back - but true blond moment! Will take much more care of the oracle from now on.

Went to Brunswick Street for drinks and dinner (at the atmospheric and dark Bimbos, downstairs is so dark - very cool - I just thought I was going to trip over things, would be good for ugly people (Andy/Abbie- that is bitchy as it's not true, just opinion). Anyway plan to go back soon, is just round corner from the house and is very cool.
So missing Melb a bit, but looking forward to going back. In Carins now in the 31 degree heat - lovely, but more tomorrow when something has happened.

Most stupid thing I did today - confusing the tram bell for the last orders bell at 8.45 in The Bar With No Name. It's hard for tourists!
x



Advertisement



18th September 2007

Holl's we're all lovin' the blog, bridget jones has competition! Glad you're getting some use out of the scribbles I gave you, but can't believe you left it by the rowing club.. you still chasing rowers?! Bimbos, yum pizza. Also look out for Bar Open which I forgot, opposite Bar with no name, i think i left some graffiti on the toilet wall... Have fun in Bris Vegas, tacky-ville. I on the other hand will be doing the newsletter tomorrow, hmm, wonder where I'd rather be? Plum club loves ya baby xx

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb